Return to 2008 Results page

-Story by Debbie Sweeney,

A full moon over the Stuart Speedway lead to some exciting racing action on Sunday, May 18 as a prelude to next week’s Ron Little Memorial Race.

Brandon Pruitt of Dexter found his way back to victory lane in the IMCA Hobby Stocks after falling victim to mechanical problems last week. Pruitt took advantage of his front row starting position and jumped into the lead on lap one of the main event, with Mike Hansen of Brayton in pursuit. Luke Wanninger of Jefferson added his name to the mix as he worked his way to the front from deep in the field to second on lap seven. Pruitt and Wanninger continued their domination until Wanninger spun on in turn four on the white flag lap, opening the door for Pruitt. Beau Kaplan of Ankeny and Jerry Hinton of Adel had solid runs to finish second and third respectively. Heat race winners were Brandon Pruitt and Rusty Gyles of Norwalk

A large field of IMCA Stock Cars put on a great show for the fans, with Gary Bass of Des Moines and Brian Blessington of Breda battling door to door in the first heat, with Bass bringing home the win. Heat 2 saw more of the same as Jeremy Gettler of Adair, Steve Campbell of Des Moines and Todd Inman of Runnells dueled it out, with Gettler the victor. Cory Adams of Urbandale had an impressive run in the third heat, crossing the finish line ahead of Marcus Fagan of Adair and Bryan Snell of Bayard. Mike Nichols of Harlan overcame a lackluster performance in his heat race to lead every lap of the main event and take home the hardware, with Steve Campbell, Bryan Snell and Josh Daniels of Des Moines rounding out the top four.

Michael Pruitt of Redfield took home his first-ever win in an IMCA Sport Mod in heat race number 1. Kevin Sather of Ankeny had a convincing win over Josh May of DeSoto in heat 2. The feature saw a new face in victory lane as David Schlicht of Adel was able to hold off a hard charging Kevin Sather for the win.

Competition in the IMCA Modifieds continues to be strong. Randy Havlik of Waukee and Todd Shute of Des Moines picked up heat race wins, while Chris Pruitt of Stuart added another trophy to his collection in the Casey’s General Store Trophy Dash. Terry Pruitt of Dexter lead the field in the early laps of the main event, while Todd Shute and Randy Havlik quietly worked their way through the field. Shute passed Pruitt on lap 7, with Pruitt second and Havlik third. Pruitt connected with the wall in turns 1 and 2 on lap 10 and was forced to retire from the race. Havlik passed Shute on the restart, with Josh Gilman of Redfield in third. At the checkers, it was Havlik the winner, Gilman second, Chris Pruitt third, Rex Parkison of Earlham fourth, and Shute fifth.

Complete Results:

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat 1 Brandon Pruitt, Dexter

Heat 2 Rusty Gyles, Norwalk

Main Brandon Pruitt, Dexter

Beau Kaplan, Ankeny

Jerry Hinton, Adel

Nyle Godwin, Redfield

Steve Anderson, Winterset

Shannon Anderson, Atlantic

Nate Lange, Menlo

Charles Belew, Adel

Eli Boyd, Guthrie Center

Luke Wanninger, Jefferson

Mike Hansen, Brayton

Joey Gyles, St. Charles

Rusty Gyles, Norwalk

Sid Larson, Roland

Randy Anderson, Atlantic

IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat 1 Gary Bass, Des Moines

Heat 2 Jeremy Gettler, Adair

Heat 3 Cory Adams, Urbandale

Main Mike Nichols, Harlan

Steve Campbell,, Des Moines

Bryan Snell, Bayard

Josh Daniels, Des Moines

Brian Blessington, Breda

Mike Goldsberry, Runnells

Cory Bushnell, Madrid

Butch Bass, Winterset

Jamie Morey, Earlham

Tim Bengard, Exira

Gary Bass, Des Moines

Marcus Fagan, Adair

Todd Inman, Runnells

Norman Belew, Redfield

Jeremy Gettler, Adair

Rick Houseman, Winterset

Cory Adams, Urbandale

Jay Cain, Waukee

IMCA Sport Mods:

Heat 1 Michael Pruitt, Redfield

Heat 2 Kevin Sather, Ankeny

Main David Schlicht, Adel

Kevin Sather, Ankeny

Josh May, DeSoto

Michael Pruitt, Redfield

Shay woods, Humeston

Kent Croskey, Polk City

Joel Thorpe, Urbandale

Chris Wilson, Winterset

Jimmy May, DeSoto

Brett Moffitt, Grimes

Joel Bushore, Boone

Jack Myer, Ankeny

IMCA Modifieds:

Heat 1 Randy Havlik, Waukee

Heat 2 Todd Shute, Des Moines

Trophy Dash Chris Pruitt, Stuart

Main Randy Havlik, Waukee

Josh Gilman, Earlham

Chris Pruitt, Stuart

Rex Parkison, Earlham

Todd Shute, Des Moines

Brad Moriarty, Des Moines

Ed Seibert, Dexter

Michael Reichart, Des Moines

Terry Pruitt, Dexter

Scott Bash, Creston

Ron Bash, Stuart