Return to 2008 Results page


Havlik, Nichols, Sather, and Anderson picked up Ron Little Memorial wins at  the Stuart Speedway! 

-Story by Debbie Sweeney,

The Stuart Speedway hosted the annual Ron Little Memorial on Sunday, May 25. Despite threatening weather, a nice field of cars was on hand to honor Ron’s legacy.

The IMCA Stock Cars kicked off the evening with three heat races, with Jamie Morey, Gary Bass and Marcus Fagan picking up the wins respectively. Josh Daniels set a quick pace early in the main, with Bryan Snell and Mike Nichols close behind. The three continued their battle for all 20 laps of the feature, with Nichols making the pass with two laps to go to bring home his second feature win of the season at the Stuart Speedway. Daniels was second, Snell third, and Rick Brown of Kellogg rounded out the top four.
Some new faces joined the IMCA Sport Mod competition on this special night, including Ron Little’s nephew, Kaleb Bentley. Bentley looked to have a strong run, until mechanical problems forced him to retire on lap 7. Kevin Sather and Joel Bushore proved to be the ones to beat as they ran first and second throughout the feature, with Kevin Sather taking the checkers and Bushore second. Tyler Gross made a good showing in his first visit to the Speedway coming home third. Josh May rounded out the top four.
Twenty-two IMCA Hobby Stocks battled it out on the quarter mile in the main event. Mike Hansen took advantage of his front row draw to take the early lead, with Jamie Schirm and Blake Miller in pursuit. Shannon Anderson worked his way through the field to join the lead pack and took the lead on lap 10. Anderson never looked back and went on to victory. Jamie Schirm had a strong second place run, with Blan Petterson and Larry Embrey of making the most of their first visit to the Speedway in 2008 with their third and fourth place finishes. Steve Roberts, Luke Wanniger and Shannon Anderson picked up heat race wins.
The IMCA Modifieds put on a great show in memory of Ron Little. Chris Pruitt and Randy Havlik picked up heat race wins. Jason Murray came from his third row starting position to take the lead on lap one, with Randy Havlik and Todd Shute close behind. Shute took the lead on lap 5, and he and Havlik battled side by side until a white flag lap incident caused Shute to spin in turn one to bring out the yellow. That handed the win to Randy Havlik who visited victory lane for the second consecutive week.


IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat 1: Jamie Morey, Earlham
Heat 2: Gary Bass, Des Moines
Heat 3: Marcus Fagan, Adair

Main : Mike Nichols, Harlan
Josh Daniels, Des Moines
Bryan Snell, Bayard
Rick Brown, Kellogg
Jeremy Getler, Adair
Rick Houseman, Winterset
Cory Adams, Urbandale
Joe Luethye, Zering
Marcus Fagan, Adair
Brian Trogdon, Bouton
Gary Bass, Des Moines
Brian Blessington, Breda
Donnie Bown, State Center
Jamie Morey, Earlham
Mike Goldsberry, Reynolds
Steve Campbell, Des Moines
Norm Belew, Redfield
Tim Bengard, Exira
Keith Williamson, Maxwell

IMCA Sport Mods:

Heat 1: Joel Bushore, Boone
Heat 2: Kevin Sather, Ankeny

Main : Kevin Sather
Joel Bushore
Tyler Gross, Bondurant
Josh May, DeSoto
Mike Pruitt, Stuart
Shay Woods, Humeston
Chris Wright, Chillicothe
Chris Wilson, Winterset
Jack Myer, Ankeny
Dave Schlicht, Adel
Jimmy May, DeSoto
Kaleb Bentley, Fairbank
Kent Croskey, Polk City

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat 1: Steve Roberts, Ankeny
Heat 2: Luke Wanninger, Jefferson
Heat 3: Shannon Anderson, Atlantic

Main : Shannon Anderson
Jamie Schirm, Dexter
Blane Petterson, Essex
Larry Embrey, Granger
Nyle Godwin, Redfield
Devin Smith, Lake City
Dave Prymek, Johnston
Nate Lange, Minlo
Jerry Hinton, Adel
Randy Anderson, Atlantic
Mike Hansen, Atlantic
Roy Whitten, Des Moines
Steve Roberts, Ankeny
Blake Miller, Des Moines
Rusty Gyles, Norwalk
Luke Wanninger, Jefferson
Brandon Pruitt, Stuart
Joey Gyles, St. Charles
Corey Madden, Avoca
Charles Belew, Adel
Steve Anderson, Winterset
Eli Boyd, Guthrie Center

IMCA Modifieds:

Heat 1: Chris Pruitt, Stuart
Heat 2: Randy Havlik, Waukee

Main : Randy Havlik
Jason Murray, Hartford
Josh Gilman, Earlham
Ben Hoesing, Boone
Rex Parkison, Earlham
Todd Shute, Des Moines
Ed Seibert, Dexter
Scott Bash, Stuart
Dennis Pittman, Jamaica
Michael Reichart, Des Moines
Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown
Craig Carlson, Madrid
Chris Pruitt, Stuart
Terry Pruitt, Dexter
Bobby Bowman, Winterset