-Return to 2008 Results page


Story by Debbie Sweeney,

Despite two weeks of heavy rainfall, Fatherís Day racing action at the Stuart Speedway was held as scheduled on Sunday, June 15.

The IMCA Sport Mods opened the show, with Jack Myer of Ankeny and David Schlicht of Adel picking up heat race wins. The top three from each heat then dueled it out in a trophy dash, with Jimmy May of DeSoto taking home the hardware. David Schlicht commanded the first half of the 15-lap event, while Kevin Sather of Ankeny worked his way from his last row starting position to challenge for the lead on lap 8. Sather passed Schlicht on lap 9 and went on to victory. Schlicht came home second, with Kent Croskey of Polk City and Josh May of DeSoto rounding out the top four.

Two heats of IMCA Stock Cars were won by Marcus Fagan of Adair and Tim Bengard of Exira. Fagan and Bengard picked up where they left off in the main, with Fagan leading the first 6 laps and Bengard in hot pursuit. While they battled for the lead through lap 14, Mike Nichols of Harlan was quietly working his way to the front to join the action. At the checkers, it was Tim Bengard taking the win and Nichols second. Josh Daniels of Des Moines and Brian Blessington passed Fagan late in the race to round out the top four.

Brandon Pruitt of Dexter claimed the first heat of the IMCA Hobby Stocks, while Rusty Gyles of Norwalk celebrated his birthday with a win in heat 2. Pruitt and Gyles saw their evening come to an early end in the feature as both retired with mechanical problems on lap 1. That opened the door for Mike Hansen of Brayton who jumped to the early lead, with Shannon Anderson of Atlantic and Nyle Godwin of Redfield not far behind. Hansenís near spin on lap 5 handed the lead to Anderson. Anderson and Godwin remained one and two for the next several laps, with Jamie Schirm of Dexter throwing his hat into the ring on lap 10. At the finish it was Godwin in victory lane, Anderson second, Schirm third, and Steve Roberts of Ankeny fourth.

Last, but by no means least, were the IMCA Modifieds. Rex Parkison of Earlham and Todd Shute of Des Moines took home heat race wins. The A-main was action packed from start to finish. Home town favorites Parkison, Josh Gilman of Earlham and Chris Pruitt of Stuart paved the way early in the race with some good door-to-door action. Shute and Randy Havlik of Waukee took advantage of the up front duel to work their way through the field to make it a five car battle. Parkison was able to hold the lead until lap 12, when Shute and Havlik dove low on the track, shuffling Parkison to third. Shute held on for the win, with Havlik second, Gilman third, and Parkison in fourth.


IMCA Sport Mods:

Heat 1: Jack Myer, Ankeny

Heat 2: David Schlicht, Adel

Trophy Dash:Jimmy May, DeSoto

Main: Kevin Sather, Ankeny

David Schlicht

Kent Croskey, Polk City

Josh May, DeSoto

Joel Bushore, Boone

Jack Myer

Shay Woods, Humeston

Jimmy May

Chris Wilson, Winterset

Michael Pruitt, Redfield

IMCA Stock Cars:

Heat 1: Marcus Fagan, Adair

Heat 2: Tim Bengard, Exira

A Main: Tim Bengard

Mike Nichols, Harlan

Josh Daniels, Des Moines

Brian Blessington, Breda

Marcus Fagan, Adair

Steve Campbell, Des Moines

Cory Bushnell, Madrid

Mike Goldsberry, Runnells

Norman Belew, Redfield

Tim Feltner, Earlham

Bryan Snell, Bayard

Jamie Morey, Earlham

Jeremy Gettler, Adair

Michael Walrod, DeSoto

IMCA Hobby Stocks:

Heat 1: Brandon Pruitt, Dexter

Heat 2: Rusty Gyles, Norwalk

A Main: Nyle Godwin, Redfield

Shannon Anderson, Atlanatic

Jamie Schirm, Dexter

Steve Roberts, Ankeny

Jerry Hinton, Adel

Mike Hansen, Brayton

Sid Larson, Roland

Nate Lange, Menlo

Joey Gyles, St. Charles

Jake Zuercher, St. Charles

Charles Belew, Adel

Blake Miller, Des Moines

Rusty Gyles, Norwalk

Steve Anderson, Winterset

Brandon Pruitt, Dexter

IMCA Modifieds:

Heat 1: Rex Parkison, Earlham

Heat 2: Todd Shute, Des Moines

A Main: Todd Shute

Randy Havlik, Waukee

Josh Gilman, Earlham

Rex Parkison, Earlham

Chris Pruitt, Stuart

Ryan Giles, West Des Moines

Jason Murray, Hartford

Scott Bash, Creston

Michael Reichardt, Des Moines

Josh Pruitt, Dexter

Ed Seibert, Dexter