Return to 2008 Results page

-Story by Debbie Sweeney,


It was a perfect night for racing at the Stuart Speedway on Sunday, June 22. Along with the IMCA Hobby Stocks, Stock Cars, Sport Mods and Modifieds, fans enjoyed a nice field of micro midgets who made their second appearance at the Speedway.

IMCA Hobby Stock action saw Shannon Anderson of Atlantic and Nyle Godwin of Redfield pick up heat race wins. In the main, Charles Belew of Adel lead in the early laps, while Anderson, Godwin and Jamie Schirm of Dexter worked their way to the front. Schirm took the lead on lap 7 and held it until retiring with mechanical problems on lap 11. That opened the door for Anderson and Godwin to attempt to make it a perfect night. At the line, it was Anderson the winner, Godwin in second, Steve Roberts of Ankeny third, and a nice run by Belew who came home fourth.

It was a rough start for the IMCA Stock Cars as it took three tries to get the feature started. Once the field got rolling, Tim Bengard of Exira wasted no time taking command as he came from his sixth row starting position to the lead by lap 3. Point leader Josh Daniels of Des Moines had another strong run going, but Mike Nichols of Harlan, Steve Campbell of Des Moines and Joe Luethje of Zearing were on the move. Nichols and Luethje passed Campbell and Daniels on lap 13 and continued their battle for second to the finish. Bengard took the victory, with Nichols second and Luethje third. Daniels rounded out the top four

Heat race winners were Jeremy Gettler of Adair and Luethje.

IMCA Sport Mod heat race winners were Shay Woods of Humeston and David Schlicht of Adel. Michael Pruitt of Redfield took the lead early in the main, with Jack Myer of Ankeny, Woods, and Joel Bushore of Boone fighting for second. Woods passed Pruitt on lap 4, while Kevin Sather of Ankeny strategically worked his way through the field to second. Sather made the pass on Wood for the lead on lap 7 and never looked back as he claimed his second win in as many weeks. Jack Myer’s impressive run brought him home second, with Bushore third, and young Shay Woods with a nice fourth place finish.

The IMCA Modifieds continue to put on a great show week after week, and this week was no exception. Veteran Chris Pruitt of Stuart and young gun Ryan Giles of West Des Moines picked up heat race wins. The top three of each heat then competed in a six-lap, inverted start trophy dash, with Randy Havlik of Waukee taking home the hardware. The main event saw Josh Pruitt rebound from a disappointing finish last week to lead all 20 laps for the victory. The real battle throughout the race was for second as Chris Pruitt and Todd Shute of Des Moines ran door to door for 16 laps, with Pruitt on the bottom and Shute running the high side. As they encountered lap traffic, Shute was able to dive under Pruitt on lap 14 to take the spot. Pruitt came right back at Shute to try to regain the position, but to no avail. The official finish saw Josh Pruitt claim his first feature win of the season, Shute second, Chris Pruitt third, and Josh Gilman of Earlham fourth.

Two heat races of micro midget action saw Cody Ledger of Omaha, Nebraska and Brunson Behring of Calamus, Iowa picking up heat race wins. The winner of the first heat then drew number 2, which inverted the top two positions for the main. It looked like Ledger was going to continue his dominance in the main as he jumped to the lead. But, Russ Parther of Knoxville had other ideas as he claimed the lead on lap 5 and held it to the finish, with Kyle Fichtner of Waverly, Nebraska second and Behring third.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat 1: Shannon Anderson, Atlantic

Heat 2: Nyle Godwin, Redfield

Main: Shannon Anderson

Nyle Godwin

Steve Roberts, Ankeny

Charles Belew, Adel

Steve Anderson, Winterset

Rusty Gyles, Norwalk

Jamie Schirm, Dexter

Nate Lange, Menlo

Mike Hansen, Brayton

Joey Gyles, St. Charles

Daniel Ulsabeck, West Des Moines

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat 1: Jeremy Gettler, Adair

Heat 2: Joe Luethje, Zearing

Main: Tim Bengard, Exira

Mike Nichols, Harlan

Joe Luethje

Josh Daniels, Des Moines

Steve Campbell, Des Moines

Brian Blessington, Breda

Mike Goldsberry, Runnells

Tim Feltner, Earlham

Marcus Fagan, Adair

Jeremy Gettler

Bryan Snell, Bayard

Rick Houseman, Winterset

Michael Walrod, DeSoto

Norman Belew, Redfield

IMCA Sport Mods

Heat 1: Shay Woods, Humeston

Heat 2: David Schlicht, Adel

Main: Kevin Sather, Ankeny

Jack Myer, Ankeny

Joel Bushore, Boone

Shay Woods

Jimmy May, DeSoto

Michael Pruitt, Redfield

Kent Croskey, Polk City

David Schlicht

Josh May, DeSoto

Jeremy Embrey, Granger

IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1: Chris Pruitt, Stuart

Heat 2: Ryan Giles, West Des Moines

Trophy Dash: Randy Havlik, Waukee

Main: Josh Pruitt, Dexter

Todd Shute, Des Moines

Chris Pruitt

Josh Gilman, Earlham

Randy Havlik

Ryan Giles

Rex Parkison, Earlham

Scott Bash, Creston

Ron Bash, Stuart

Ed Seibert, Dexter

Micro Midgets

Heat 1: Cody Ledger, Omaha, NE

Heat 2: Brunson Behring, Calamus, IA

Main: Russ Parther, Knoxville

Kyle Fichtner, Waverly, NE

Dan Berends, Des Moines

Allen Ambers, Knoxville

Brad Comegys, Des Moines

Tim Ottenbacher, Hospers

Wade Huisman, Hospers

John Loose, Des Moines

Laney Feight, Indianola

Cody Ledger

Dan Henning, Columbia

Cody Sage, Indianola