Return to 2008 Results page

-Story by Debbie Sweeney,

Dark, gray skies gave way to bright sunshine just in time for racing at the Stuart Speedway on June 29.
The IMCA Hobby Stocks opened the show with Mike Hansen of Brayton, Rusty Gyles of Norwalk and Steve Roberts of Ankeny picking up heat race wins.  The top two finishers in each heat then competed in a 6-lap trophy dash, with Shannon Anderson of Atlantic taking home the hardware.  Mike Hansen looked like the man to beat in the main, but Steve Roberts and Shannon Anderson weren't giving in easily.  Hansen held on until lap 10 when Anderson made the pass for the lead on the front stretch.  Anderson never looked back as he picked up another feature win at the Stuart Speedway.  Hansen came home second and Steve Roberts third.  A post-race inspection knocked Rusty Gyles from his fourth place finish as he was found to have an illegal carburetor.
IMCA Sport Mod action saw some great runs by young and rooker drivers.  Rookie Kent Croskey of Polk City won heat race 1, with young Shay Woods of Humeston taking heat 2.  David Schlicht of Adel lead the first six laps of the main, with Woods and Joel Bushore of Boone in pursuit.  Woods passed  Schlicht on lap 7 and never looked back as he picked up his first ever feature win in the IMCA Sport Mods.  Schlicht, Bushore and Josh May of DeSoto rounded out the top four.   
Three heat races of IMCA Stock Car competition saw Jamie Morey of Earlham, Cory Bushnell of Madrid and Brian Blessington of Breda picking up wins.  The number 23 was a lucky number at the start of the main as the 23 of Jeremy Gettler of Adair and the 23H of Rick Houseman of Winterset ran 1 and 2 for the first 7 laps.  Heat winner Blessington was forced to retire on lap 3 with a flat tire, and Bushnell encountered mechanical problems on lap 11.  While the 23's were battling it out, point leader Mike Nichols of Harlan was quietly making his way through the field. Nichols caught and passed Gettler on lap 17 and went on to victory, with Gettler, Houseman and Brian Snell of Bayard second through fourth.
The IMCA Modifieds put on one heck of a show for the fans.  Point leader Randy Havlik of Waukee and Rex Parkison of Earlham claimed heat races.  The main was a wild affair as the extremely competitive field diced it out.  Josh Pruitt of Dexter and Rex Parkison of Earlham swapped the lead for the first 9 laps of the race.  Bobbles by both Pruitt and Parkison on lap 10 paved the way for Todd Shute of Des Moines to dive past them for the lead.  Shute held on for the win, with Havlik second, Parkison third and Josh Pruitt fourth.

Hobby Stock:

Heat 1. #3  Mike Hansen  Brayton, IA
 Heat 2  #33d  Rusty Gyles  Norwalk, IA
Heat 3  #12  Steve Roberts  Ankeny, IA
Trophy Dash  #78 Shannon Anderson  Atlantic, IA

78  Shannon Anderson  Atlantic, IA
3  Mike Hansen  Brayton, IA
12  Steve Roberts  Ankeny, IA
56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
79  Charles Belew  Adel, IA
0  Dave Prymek  Johnson, IA
22d  Daniel Ulsabeck  West Des Moines, IA
17  Nate Lange  Menlo, IA
34j  Jerry Hinton  Adel, IA
93  Randy  Anderson Atlantic, IA
28  sid Larson  Roland, IA
1A  Steve Anderson  Winterset, IA
11g  Nyle Godwin  Redfield, IA
59G  Joey Gyles  St. Charles, IA
00Z Jake Zuercher  St. Charles, IA
2  Eli Boyd  Guthrie Center, IA
10b  Brandon Pruitt  Dexter, IA
33d  Rusty Gyles  Norwalk, IA
Stock Cars: 

Heat 1  6j  Jamie Morey Earlham, IA
 Heat 2  55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
Heat 3  92b  Brian Blessington  Breda, IA

63  Mike Nichols  Harlan, IA
23  Jeremy  Gettler  Adair, IA
23h  Rick Houseman  Winterset, IA
3s  Bryan Snell  Bayard, IA
25j  Josh Daniels  Des Moines, IA
6J  Jamie Morey  Earlham, IA
11  Steve Campbell  Des Moines, IA
55x  Steve Hill  Des Moines, IA
76  Norman  Belew  Redfield, IA
10x  John Wilson  Winterset, IA
1F  Marcus Fagan  Adair, IA
10K Keith Knop  Shelby, IA
55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
02 Mike Goldsberry  Runnells, IA
19B Tim Bengard  Exira, IA
92b  Brian Blessington  Breda, IA
32t  Tim Feltner  Earlham, IA
6  Jay Cain  Waukee, IA
Sport Mods:

Heat 1  12c Kent Croskey  Polk City, IA
Heat 2  20 Shay Woods  Humeston, IA

20  Shay Woods  Humeston, IA
19  David Schlicht  Adel, IA
87  Joel Bushore  Boone, IA
99  Josh May  DeSoto, IA
3  Kevin Sather  Ankeny, IA
5j  Jimmy May  DeSoto, IA
12c  Kent Croskey, Polk City, IA
92  Michael Pruitt  Redfield, IA
77  Jack Myer  Ankeny, IA

 Heat 1  3z  Randy Havlik  Waukee, IA
Heat 2  31r Rex Parkinson  Earlham, IA

5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA
3z  Randy Havlik  Waukee, IA
31r  Rex Parkison  Earlham, IA
78x  Josh Pruitt  Dexter, IA
83g  Josh Gilman  Earlham, IA
33m  Mike Molle  Glidden, IA
14B  Scott Bash  Creston, IA
131s  Ed Seibert  Dexter, IA
22  Chris Pruitt  Stuart, IA
14  Ron Bash  Stuart, IA