Return to 2008 Results page


Story by Debbie Sweeney,

July 13th -Iowa Guard National Night and Mid Season Championship

The Stuart Speedway celebrated Iowa National Guard Night on Sunday, July 13 with the National Guard on hand to distribute t-shirts and other various items to the fans. Team 316 Ministries opened the evening with a prayer and a moment of silence in remembrance of our troupes overseas who are defending our country.

The number 3 was the lucky number of the evening as the winner of every A Main of IMCA competition included the number 3.

The IMCA Hobby Stocks were the first to take to the track for two heat races, with Mike Hansen of Brayton and Jamie Schirm of Dexter picking up the wins. Hansen picked up where he left off in the main as he quickly piloted his number 3 to the front, with Schirm, Charles Belew of Adel and Daniel Hilsabeck of West Des Moines in pursuit. A spin on lap 7 took Belew out of contention and Hilsabeck was forced to retire with mechanical problems on lap 8. Meanwhile, Steve Roberts of Ankeny and Shannon Anderson of Atlantic, were working their way through the field from their last row starting positions. Schirm abruptly retired on lap 12 with mechanical problems, paving the way for Mike Hansen to pick up his first ever feature win. Anderson, Roberts and Steve Anderson of Winterset rounded out the top four.

A nice field of IMCA Stock Cars saw the 23 of Jeremy Gettler of Adair and the 19B of Tim Bengard of Exira take home heat race wins. The top 3 from each heat then competed in a 6-lap trophy dash, with Cory Bushnell of Madrid taking home the hardware. Gettler jumped to the lead early in the main, with Bengard and Bushnell close behind. At the checkers it was Gettler the victor, Bengard second, Bushnell third and Mike Nichols of Harlan fourth.

IMCA Sport Mod competition included two heat races, with the 3 of Kevin Sather of Ankeny and David Schlicht of Adel picking up the wins. Jack Myer of Ankeny lead the field in the early laps of the main, but was unable to hold off a hard charging Sather. Sather captured another feature win at the Speedway, with Myer, Schlicht and Joel Bushore of Boone rounding out the top four.

The IMCA Modifieds welcomed two drivers from California for a great night of competition. Heat races saw Randy Havlik of Waukee and Todd Shute of Des Moines picking up wins, and California competitors Brian Cass and Paul Stone with impressive third and second place finishes respectively in their heat races. The A Main was a barnburner from start to finish. Mike Molle of Glidden and Shute battled for the lead in the opening laps, with Josh Gilman of Earlham not far behind. Shute looked to be on his way to another feature win, but fell victim to a flat tire on lap 7 after getting caught up in a multi-car spin. Shute quickly went to the work area, changed the tire and was returned to the tail of the field before the race was restarted. The 83G of Gilman passed Molle on lap 10, while Havlik was trying to hold off a hard charging Shute who was quickly marching back to the front. At the finish, Gilman picked up his second feature win of the season, Havlik came home second, Shute third and Molle fourth.

Vintage coupes and sprints entertained the crowd, with Ron Coon of Omaha picking up the coupe feature win, and Don Tice of Ames the vintage sprint winner.

Hobby Stocks:

Heat 1. 3  Mike Hansen  Brayton, IA
Heat 2. 56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA

3  Mike Hansen  Brayton, IA
78  Shannon Anderson  Atlantic, IA
12  Steve Roberts  Ankeny, IA
1A  Steve Anderson  Winterset, IA
38R  Aaron Rudolph  Scranton, IA
5W  Chad Waddell  Redfield, IA
12A  Rob Allison  Des Moines, IA
93  Randy Anderson  Atlanic, IA
17  Nate Lange  Menlo, IA
79  Charles Belew  Adel, IA
99  Adam Hersel  Atlantic, IA
59G  Joey Gyles  St. Charles, IA
56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
11G  Nyle Godwin  Redfield, IA
22D  Daniel Ulsabeck  West Des Moines, IA
0  Dave Prymek  Johnston, IA
33D  Rusty Gyles  Norwalk, IA
Stock Cars:
Trophy Dash: 55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
Heat 1. 23  Jeremy Gettler  Adair, IA
Heat 2. 19B  Tim Bengard  Exira, IA

23  Jeremy Gettler  Adair, IA
19B  Tim Bengard  Exira, IA
55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
63  Mike Nichols  Harlan, IA
3S  Bryan Snell  Bayard, IA
6J  Jamie Morey  Earlham, IA
11  Steve Campbell  Des Moines, IA
6  Jay Cain  Waukee, IA
10X  John Wilson  Winterset, IA
32T  Tim Feltner  Earlham, IA
76  Norman Belew  Redfield, IA
92b  Brian Blessington  Breda, IA
25J  Josh Daniels  Des Moines, IA
28w  Don Wear  Des Moines, IA
23H  Rick Houseman  Winterset, IA
02  Mike Goldsberry  Runnells, IA
711  Michael Walrod  DeSoto, IA
Sport Mod:
Heat 1. 3 Kevin Sather  Ankeny, IA
Heat 2. 19  David Schilicht  Adel, IA

3  Kevin Sather  Ankeny, IA
77  Jack Myer  Ankeny, IA
19  David Schlicht  Adel, IA
87  Joel Bushore  Boone, IA
20  Shay Woods  Humeston, IA
5J  Jimmy May  DeSoto, IA
92  Michael  Pruitt  Redfield, IA
99  Josh May  DeSoto, IA
12c Kent Croskey Polk City, IA
Heat 1. 3Z  Randy Havlik  Waukee, IA
Heat 2. 5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA

Main:                                                                                                                                                                                                :83G  Josh Gilman  Earlhan, IA
3Z  Randy  Havlik  Waukee, IA
5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA
33M  Mike Molle  Glidden, IA
66p  Paul Stone  Winton, CA
78  Terry Pruitt  Dexter, IA
22  Chris Pruitt  Staurt, IA
31r  Rex Parkison Earlham, IA
14B  Scott Bash  Creston, IA
55x  Brian Casss  Livermore, CA
15a  James Allbee  Jefferson, IA
14  Ron Bash  Stuart, IA
131s  Ed Seibert  Dexter, IA