Return to 2008 Results page

-Story by Debbie Sweeney,

July 20th -Radical Cycle Night


The Stuart Speedway once again overcame heavy overnight rains and threatening skies on Sunday, July 20 and provided some great racing action for the fans on Radical Cycle Night.

The IMCA Sport Mods welcomed six new cars to the Speedway for some tough competition. Heat races were claimed by Jack Myer of Ankeny and Kent Croskey of Polk City. The top three finishers in each heat then competed in a six-lap inverted start Casey’s General Stores Trophy Dash, with Joel Bushore of Boone taking home the hardware. The A-Main was a barnburner, with the 15-lap event going green to checkers. Jimmy May of DeSoto lead from the start, with Kent Croskey and Shay Woods of Humeston in close pursuit. Further back in the back, Bushore and Kevin Sather of Ankeny were slowly threading their way through the field. Sather made his way to second by lap 10, and passed May on lap 14 for the lead with Bushore following. At the checkers, it was Kevin Sather picking up his 19th feature win of the season, Bushore second, May third, and David Schlicht of Adel fourth. Bushore currently holds a slim 4-point lead over Josh May of DeSoto, with just 12 points separating positions one through six.

IMCA Stock Car action was also action-packed, as a strong field of cars battled for real estate. Don Wear of Des Moines, Brian Blessington of Breda and Jamie Morey of Earlham all picked up heat race wins. The Stock Car 20-lap main also went green to checkers, with Wear and Mike Goldsberry of Runnells ruling the top two positions through lap 8. Blessington threw his name into the mix on lap 9, stole the lead from Goldsberry on lap 11 and never looked back as he made his first trip to Stuart Speedway’s victory lane in 2008. Tim Bengard of Exira made an impressive run from mid-pack to finish second, with Goldsberry and Wear rounding out the top four. Mike Nichols of Harlan is the current point leader, with Josh Daniels of Des Moines just 13 points behind.

A good field of IMCA Hobby Stocks were on hand, including four first-time visitors to the Speedway. Aaron Rudolph of Scranton, Steve Roberts of Ankeny and Jamie Schirm of Dexter took home heat race wins. The top six in points then competed in a 6-lap inverted start Australian Pursuit sponsored by Hawkeye Auto Salvage, with Jamie Schirm the victor. Shannon Anderson of Atlantic wasted no time in making his way to the front in the main as he came from his sixth row starting position to the lead by lap three. Anderson continued his mastery of the Speedway for the remainder of the 15-lap race for another trip to victory lane. Rudolph, Mike Hansen of Brayton and Steve Anderson of Winterset finished second through fourth respectively. Shannon Anderson leads the points, with Mike Hansen second and Jamie Schirm third.

The IMCA Modifieds closed out the evening, with the 20-lap main once again caution-free. Terry Pruitt of Dexter looked poised to capture his first feature win of the season as he lead the first nine laps, but Todd Shute of Des Moines had other ideas. Shute claimed the lead from Pruitt on lap 10, while Pruitt and Josh Gilman of Earlham battled for positions 2 and 3. At the line, it was Shute, Gilman, Pruitt and Ryan Giles of West Des Moines. Heat race winners were Terry Pruitt and Rex Parkison of Earlham. Randy Havlik of Waukee and Todd Shute are currently tied for the point lead, with Josh Gilman just 5 points behind.


Hobby Stock:
Australian Pursuit: 56 Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
Heat 1. 38r  Aaron Rudolph  Scranton, IA
Heat 2.  12  Steve Roberts  Ankeny, IA
Heat 3.  56  Jamie Schrim  Dexter, IA
1.  78  Shannon Anderson  Atlantic, IA
2.  38r  Aaron Rudolph  Scranton, IA
3.  3  Mike Hansen  Brayton, IA
4.  1a  Steve Anderson  Winterset, IA
5.  93  Randy Anderson  Atlantic, IA
6.  00  Kyle Dirks  Nevada, IA
7.  7+  Ray Timmerman  Norwalk, IA
8.  56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
9.  11g  Nyle Godwin  Redfield, IA
10.  5W  Chad Waddell  Redfield, IA
11.  5  Keith Miner  Granger, IA
12. 59G  Joey Gyles  St. Charles, IA
13.  21m  Ross Marshall  Johnston, IA
14.  99  Adam Hersel  Atlantic, IA
15.  17  Nate Lange  Menlo, IA
16.  79  Charles Belew  Adel, IA
17.  12  Steve Roberts  Ankeny, IA
18.  5x  Joey Edler  Cambridge, IA
Stock Car:
Heat 1.  28w  Don Wear  Des Moines, IA
Heat 2.  92b  Brian Blessington  Breda, IA
Heat 3.  6j  Jamie Morey  Earlham, IA
1.  92 Brian Blessington  Breda, IA
2.  19b  Tim Bengard  Exira, IA
3.  02  Mike Goldsberry  Runnells, IA
4.  28w  Don Wear  Des Moines, IA
5.  3s  Bryan Snell  Bayard, IA
6.  63  Mike Nichols  Harlan, IA
7.  19j  Jay Schmidt  Tama, IA
8.  25j  Josh Daniels  Des Moines, IA
9.  6j  Jamie Morey  Earlham, IA
10.  10x  John Wilson  Winterset, IA
11.  23h  Rick Houseman  Winterset, IA
12.  6  Jay Cain  Waukee, IA
13.  76  Norman Belew  Redfield, IA
14.  11  Steve Campbell  Des Moines, IA
15.  55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
16.  32t  Tim Feltner  Earlham, IA
17.  23  Jeremy Gettler  Adair, IA
18.  1f  Marcus Fagan  Adair, IA
19.  55x  Steve Hill  Des Moines, IA
Sport Mod:
Trophy Dash:  87  Joel Bushore  Boone, IA
Heat 2. 77  Jack Myer  Ankeny, IA
Heat 3. 12c  Kent Croskey  Polk City, IA
1.  3  Kevin Sather  Boone, IA
2.  87  Joel Bushore  Boone, IA
3.  5j  Jimmy May  DeSoto, IA
4.  19  David Schlicht  Adel, IA
5.  77  Jack Myer  Ankeny, IA
6.  92  Michael Pruitt  Redfield, IA
7.  99  Josh May  DeSoto, IA
8.  321  Andy Tierman  Woodward, IA
9.  41  Jeremy Embrey  Granger, IA
10.  20  Shay Woods  Humeston, IA
11.  08  Roger Harpster  Omaha, NE
12.  92b  Brandon Pruitt  Dexter, IA
13.  11t  Tyler Olson  Sioux City, IA
14.  12c  Kent Croskey  Polk City, IA
15.   2g    Geoff Olson  Sioux City, IA
Heat 1.  78  Terry Pruitt  Dexter, IA
Heat 2.  31r  Rex Parkison  Earlham, IA
1.  5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA
2.  83G  Josh Gilman  Earlham, IA
3.  78  Terry Pruitt  Dexter, IA
4.  9  Ryan Giles  West Des Moines, IA
5.  3z  Randy Havlik  Waukee, IA
6.  31r  Rex Parkison  Earlham, IA
7.  c19  Jeremie Hedrick  Green Bay,WI
8.  49j  Jason Murray  Hartford, IA
9.  14B  Scott Bash  Creston, IA
10.  73  Brad Moriarty  Des Moines, IA
11.  22  Chris Pruitt  Stuart, IA