Return to 2008 Results page-

Story by Debbie Sweeney,

A beautiful Iowa sunset set the tone for a great night of racing at the Stuart Speedway on Sunday, August 17.

IMCA Sport Mod competition brought heat race wins to Jimmy May of DeSoto and David Schlicht of Adel. The top three from each of the two heats then competed in a six-lap Casey’s General Stores Trophy Dash, with Josh May of DeSoto the victor. Michael Pruitt of Redfield commanded the field for the first half of the main event, with Schlicht a close second. Kevin Sather, the current point leader, came from the rear of the field to contend for the lead by lap 8. Pruitt and Sather swapped the lead for the next few laps until Sather was able to take final claim on lap 11 and held on for the win. Pruitt, Joel Bushore of Boone and Schlicht rounded out the top four. Sather holds a slim 9-point lead over Joel Bushore going into next week’s action.

Jamie Schirm and Brandon Pruitt, both of Dexter, took home heat race wins in the IMCA Hobby Stocks. Pruitt capitalized on his front-row starting position in the main to pace the field for the first 10 laps of the 15-lap event. Schirm and Shannon Anderson of Atlantic diced their way through the field to challenge Pruitt by lap 8. Pruitt was able to hold them off until lap 11, when Anderson moved high on the track and took the lead. At the finish it was Anderson with the win, Pruitt second, Schirm third, and Nyle Godwin of Redfield fourth. Anderson has a firm hold on the point lead, while Schirm and Godwin battle for second.

A strong field of IMCA Stock Cars put on one heck of a show for the fans. John Wilson of Winterset, Mike Nichols of Harlan and Cory Bushnell of Madrid were heat race winners. Three and four-wide racing was the norm throughout the 20-lap main as Rick Houseman of Winterset and Steve Hill of Des Moines battled door to door for the lead early on, until Houseman was black-flagged for questionable driving as he spun Hill on Lap 8. That opened the door for Marcus Fagan of Adair to assume the lead as Houseman retired to the pits and Hill was relegated to the rear of the field. Fagan’s lead was short-lived as Brian Blessington of Breda and Steve Campbell of Des Moines passed Fagan on lap 11. Nichols and Tim Bengard of Exira joined the lead pack and put on a driving school for the fans as they battled 3 and 4 wide for the remainder of the race. At the checkers it was Brian Blessington returning to Stuart Speedway victory lane and Nichols second. Campbell completed a nice run coming home third, and Bengard fourth. Mike Nichols is the current point leader, just 11points ahead of Josh Daniels of Des Moines.

Terry Pruitt of Dexter picked up where he left off last week as he jumped to the lead in the IMCA Modified main, with Rex Parkison of Earlham a close second. Todd Shute wasted no time in his march to the front as he began his challenge for the lead on lap 4. While Pruitt and Shute battled for the lead, Nick Deal of Walnut was making the most of his return visit to the Stuart Speedway by moving to third. Deal passed Pruitt for second on lap 14 and began his pursuit of Shute, but the laps ran short as Shute was able to hold off Deal for the win. Deal, Randy Havlik of Waukee and Pruitt rounded out the top four. Heat race winners were Shute and Havlik. Shute is the current point leader, followed by Havlik, Josh Gilman of Earlham and Parkison.


Hobby Stock:
Heat 1. 56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
Heat 2.  10B  Brandon Pruitt  Dexter, IA

78  Shannon Anderson  Atlantic, IA
10B  Brandon Pruitt  Dexter, IA
56  Jamie Schirm  Dexter, IA
11G  Nyle Godwin  Redfield, IA
2  Eli Boyd  Guthrie Center, IA
33d  Rusty Gyles  Norwalk, IA
17   Nate Lange  Menlo, IA
2j  Palph Jones  Des Moines, IA
9w  Larry Routh  Norwalk, IA
59g  Joey Gyles  St. Charles, IA
12x  Doug Smith  Lake City, IA
1A  Steve Anderson  Winterset, IA
3x  Patrick Pellman  Creston, IA
10  Tim Teff  Des Moines, IA
5w  Chad Waddell  Redfield, IA
79  Charles Belew  Adel, IA
Stock Car:
Heat 1. 10x John Wilson  Winterset, IA
Heat 2. 63  Mike Nichols  Harlan, IA
Heat 3. 55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA

92b  Brian Blessington  Breda, IA
63  Mike Nichols  Harlan, IA
11  Steve Campbell  Des Moines, IA
19b  Tim Bengard  Exira, IA
1F  Marcus  Fagan  Adair, IA
3s   Bryan Snell  Bayard, IA
25j  Josh Daniels  Des Moines, IA
55  Cory Bushnell  Madrid, IA
02  Mike Goldsberry  Runnells, IA
55x  Steve Hill  Des Moines, IA
10x  John Wilson  Winterset, IA
32t  Tim Feltner  Earlham, IA
28w  Don Wear  Des Moines, IA
76  Norman Belew  Redfield, IA
23H  Rick Houseman  Winterset, IA
23  Jeremy Gettler  Adair, IA
6j  Jamie Morey  Earlham, IA
711  Michael Walrod  DeSoto, IA
3l  Scott Mineart Earlham, IA
Sport Mods:
Trophy Dash:
99  Josh May  DeSoto, IA
Heat 1.  5j  Jimmy May  DeSoto, IA
Heat 2.  19  David Schlicht  Adel, IA

3  Kevin Sather  Ankeny, IA
92  Michael Pruitt  Redfield, IA
87  Joel Bushore  Boone, IA
19  David Schlicht  Adel, IA
77  Jack Myer  Ankeny, IA
99  Josh May  DeSoto, IA
3B  Paul Nagle  Nevada, IA
5j  Jimmy May  DeSoto, IA
12c  Kent Croskey, IA
3tj  Joel Thorpe  Urbandale, IA
Heat 1. 5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA
Heat 2. 3z  Randy Havlik  Waukee, IA

5  Todd Shute  Des Moines, IA
55d  Nick Deal Walnut, IA
3z  Randy Havlik Waukee, IA
78  Terry Pruitt Dexter, IA
31r  Rex Parkison  Earlham, IA
22  Chris Pruitt  Stuart, IA
14b  Scott Bash  Stuart, IA
131s  Ed Seibert  Dexter, IA
83g  Josh Gilman  Earlham, IA
14  Ron Bash  Stuart, IA