Pruitt Threepeats With Dramatic Last Lap Pass

        Stuart, IA (May 1) – On the first day of May the weather was breezy and cool but the action was fast and hot as the third week of racing took place at Stuart Speedway. Brandon Pruitt and Jim Britton won for the third straight week and Jordan Peters picked up his second straight while Randy Killen, Casey Greubel and Josh Most notched their first wins at the fast quarter mile.
        Seventeen IMCA Stock Cars were led to the green flag by Jamie Schirm and Scott Bailey to start the evening. Within a lap it became evident that the track had dried off to the point that dust was bad enough to take action. After watering down and packing in the track a bit, the racing continued with third starting Randy Killen at the point. Because of a few yellow flags the race would be shortened to fifteen laps and Killen had no problem leading all of them to pick up his first win of the year at Stuart. Following Killen would be Bob Daniels, Michael Johnston, Jeff Anderson and Steve Campbell. Heat race winners were Anderson, Killen and Johnston.
        IMCA Northern Sportmods were up next with rookie Casey Gruebel and Jared Hansen leading sixteen cars to the green. Greubel took control of the race and through two cautions continued to lead at lap twelve when things turned sour as he spun to the tires in turn four, but with a caution coming out for a stalled car before the lap was completed and Gruebel not stopping his car he was returned to the lead. That would be all the luck Gruebel needed as he picked up the first feature win of his young career. David Schlicht, Nick Roberts, Mike Pruitt and Jerry Hinton rounded out the top five. Post-race inspection revealed Roberts had an illegal crankshaft, disqualifying him for the night and moving Josh Modde into fifth. Roberts and Clinton Luellen were the heat race winners.
        Thinking that the narrow tires would bring some moisture to the surface, nineteen IMCA Hobby Stocks were brought out next with Shannon Anderson and Phillip Castellano bringing the field to green. Anderson wasted no time taking control and leading through four caution flags in the first eight laps. They would go the distance from lap nine with point leader and tenth starting Brandon Pruitt closing in on Anderson. The pair were within inches of each other for the last four laps with Pruitt trying unsuccessfully to make the pass. As they took the white flag, Pruitt followed Anderson through turns 1-2 and went in high in turn 3. Coming out of turn 4, Pruitt cut through the middle and under Anderson to the flag and won by less than a foot! From my point of view, I never saw any contact between the two cars, and in my mind both drivers should be commended for an awesome display of driving! Jason Kohl, John Watson and Cory Adams finished off the top five cars with Anderson, Watson and Austin Luellen winning the heat races.
        IMCA Modifieds came out next with Ed Siebert and Josh Most on the front row. Most blasted out to the lead with Josh Gilman and Randy Havlik giving chase. Gilman would get close but Most was not to be denied and led all twenty caution-free laps to pick up his first ever win in the class. Gilman, Havlik, Scott Bash and Siebert were the top five and Most made it a clean sweep in winning the heat race and the trophy dash as well.
IMCA Sport Compacts made the call next with Jordan Peters taking advantage of his outside row one starting spot to take the lead for all six laps to get the win. David Archibald and David Sciranko completed the top three and Archibald won the heat race.
        6 Cylinder FWD’s were last up with David Sciranko and Jim Britton leading the field to green. Third starting Jordan Peters darted out to the lead, but Britton took over by lap two and went on to the win. Sciranko, Peters and Jodie Maben rounded out the top four and Britton also won the heat race.
Thanks to all who came out to watch and race. We apologize for the dusty conditions and please know we will continue to do all we can to make the show as enjoyable as possible. Please join us next week for Sprayer Specialties Night at the Races!

Story by Josh Reynolds