Fagan Wins Stew Hansen Dodge Stock Car Shootout
Stuart, IA (June 15) – The sun was shining and the cars were flying as night number five of the season arrived at Stuart Speedway. Cody Cleghorn, Clint Luellen, Cole Ferguson, Shannon Anderson and Marcus Fagan took home the hardware on Stew Hansen Dodge Night at the Races.
IMCA Sport Compacts were the first feature on the track with Dean Richards and Cody Cleghorn on the front row. Cleghorn took command on lap one and never faltered in taking the win. Richards finished second with Shannon Mahlberg third, Logan Richards fourth and Brandon Patava fifth. Cleghorn was also the heat race winner.
Colton Nelson and Shawn Cooney brought out the IMCA Northern SportMods next for their fifteen lap feature. Nelson would lead lap one, but Brandon Williams took over on lap two with Clint Luellen passing Nelson for second on lap three. Luellen gave chase high and low and finally took over the lead on lap ten. Williams tried everything he had, but Luellen was too strong and went on to take the win. Williams took second with Jerry Hinton third, Nelson fourth and Cooney fifth. Nelson was the heat race winner.
IMCA Modifieds came out next with Rex Parkison and Marcus Fagan on the front row. Fagan took control with Cole Ferguson and Josh Gilman giving chase. Ferguson moved alongside Fagan a few times, finally taking the top spot on lap eight. Luke Wanninger moved into second on lap eleven, and wasted no time in passing Ferguson a lap later for the lead. The caution flag waved on lap fourteen and as the cars were getting lined up Wanninger pulled to the work area with a flat tire. This set up quite a finish with Ferguson out front with Randy Havlik, Brandon Pruitt and Josh Gilman in tow for the restart. Two laps later the yellow flew again, leaving Ferguson four laps from his first ever Modified win. Once the cars got going again, Ferguson showed his muscle on the bottom while pulling away from the field. After taking the white flag, two cars spun going into turn one and that brought the yellow-checkered out. Ferguson took home that first win with Gilman second, Havlik third, Nick Roberts fourth and Pruitt fifth. Fagan and Ferguson were the heat race winners.
Korbin Nourse and Dean Richards led the 6 Cylinder FWD’s to green with Richards holding the lead on lap one. Richards kept the top spot until Cody Cleghorn moved by on lap five. Cleghorn would go on to the win with Richards second, James Hawxby third, Shannon Mahlberg fourth and Jamie Coady fifth. Cleghorn was also the heat race winner, giving him four wins on the night!
IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Aaron Rudolph and Derek Hodges showing the way. Rudolph would lead until the caution waved on lap three. Shannon Anderson played the restart perfectly and took over the top spot on lap four with Jamie Schirm moving into second the next lap. Anderson was strong at the front until another yellow slowed the field on lap thirteen, setting up a two lap dash for the win. Anderson would power his way to the victory, and Mike Pruitt made the most of the last restart, moving past Schirm to take second. Schirm settled for third with Rudolph fourth and Dusty Van Horn fifth. Chad LeGere, Hodges and Austin Luellen were the heat race winners.
The last event for the night would be the third annual Stew Hansen Dodge Stock Car Shootout for the IMCA Stock Cars. After Marcus Fagan, Brian Blessington and Robert Stofer picked up the heat race wins, Fagan and Terry Pruitt drew the front row for the twenty five lap feature. Pruitt held the lead at the start with first Donovan Smith and then Fagan following behind in second. The top three stayed Pruitt-Fagan-Smith until a caution for Stofer on the frontstretch wall. Once the cars got going again, Smith took the lead until Pruitt nosed ahead on lap ten right before the caution flag flew again. One more yellow before the cars completed a lap would be the last thing to slow these cars down, and Pruitt held the lead until Devin Smith passed him on lap thirteen. Devin would lead one more lap, and then Fagan found the grip he needed on the bottom to take over on lap fifteen. Until about lap twenty you could throw a blanket over the top three, but from then on Fagan stretched out the lead and went on to the win and the $1000 top prize. Devin Smith held on to second with Pruitt third, eleventh-starting Brian Blessington fourth and Donovan Smith fifth.
We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our fifth event of the year. Next week is National Investors Night at the Races. In addition to our regular classes we will have the IMCA Late Models in town for their second installment of the season. See you then!

Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 3 3F    Cole Ferguson    Dexter , Ia
2 7 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia
3 9 3Z    Randy Havlik    Madrid , Ia
4 6 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia
5 5 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia
6 10 20W    Shay Woods    Humeston , Ia
7 1 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia
8 12 18    Jake Durbin    Perry , Ia
9 11 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia
10 8 20    Luke Wanninger    Minburn , Ia DNF
11 4 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia DNF
12 2 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia DNF

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 1 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia
2 3 81    Devin Smith    Lake City, Ia
3 2 78P    Terry Pruitt    Dexter , Ia
4 11 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia
5 4 35    Donovan Smith    Lake City, Ia
6 6 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia
7 14 25J    Josh Daniels    Carlisle , Ia
8 9 99D    Damon Murty    Chelsea , Ia
9 5 22    Chris Pruitt    Stuart , Ia
10 12 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia
11 7 64    Scott Bailey    Carlisle , Ia
12 17 7H    Adam Hensel    Atlantic , Ia
13 10 76    Norman Belew    Granger , Ia
14 18 19    Brandon Bach    Des Moines, Ia
15 16 7K    Andrew Knode    Adel , Ia DNF
16 8 50    Robert Stofer    Jefferson , Ia DNF
17 13 98    Derrick Rohe    Audubon , Ia DNF
18 15 33D    Rusty Gyles    St. Charles, Ia DNS

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 5 3L    Clint Luellen    Minburn , Ia
2 3 67X    Brandon Williams    Des Moines, Ia
3 4 34    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia
4 1 93N    Colton Nelson    Osceola , Ia
5 2 30    Shawn Cooney    Des Moines, Ia
6 8 42    Matt Hays    Stuart , Ia
7 9 8CR    Chase Rudolf    Prole , Ia
8 6 1    Kendall Davis    Des Moines, Ia DNF
9 7 99RE    Arie Schouten    Blair , Ne DNF

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 6 78    Shannon Anderson    Urbandale , Ia
2 9 92P    Michael Pruitt    Redfield , Ia
3 4 56    Jamie Schirm    Dexter , Ia
4 1 38R    Aaron Rudolph    Grand Junction, Ia
5 10 33VH    Dusty Van Horn    Atlantic , Ia
6 5 78B    Andrew Burg    Adel , Ia
7 8 7B    Eric Stanton    Hartford , Ia
8 3 7C    Chad Legere    Des Moines, Ia
9 7 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia
10 2 77    Derek Hodges    Des Moines, Ia
11 14 42T    Tyson Overton    Carlisle , Ia
12 17 92    Buck Schafroth    Orient , Ia
13 12 57    Daniel Hagen    Grimes , Ia
14 18 5H    Andy Hick    Adel , Ia
15 13 47W    Shawn Wirtz    Boone , Ia
16 19 89R    Ryan Wells    Runnells , Ia
17 15 42    Riley Songer    Ankeny , Ia
18 16 32    Dillon Carlisle    Shannon City, Ia
19 11 88    Mike Leffler    Ankeny , Ia DNF
20 20 20    Jeremy Auten    Clarinda , Ia DNS

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 2 21ZC    Cody Cleghorn    Des Moines, Ia
2 1 69X    Dean Richards    Creston , Ia
3 3 22    Shannon Mahlberg    Earling , Ia
4 6 97    Logan Richards    Creston , Ia
5 4 61    Brandon Patava    Des Moines, Ia
6 5 04    Brandon Darnold    Malvern , Ia

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 3 21ZC    Cody Cleghorn    Des Moines, Ia
2 2 69X    Dean Richards    Creston , Ia
3 4 11    James Hawxby    Des Moines, Ia
4 5 22    Shannon Mahlberg    Earling , Ia
5 6 56J    Jamie Coady    Colfax , Ia
6 1 12    Korbin Nourse    Dexter , Ia DNF