Pruitts Do the Double Again

Story by Josh Reynolds

                Stuart, IA (June 5) Ė Racers and fans alike came to Stuart Speedway on the first Sunday in June to see some great side by side racing, and they were not disappointed! Jodie Maben, Randy Havlik, Jim Britton, Mike Pruitt, Jeremy Gettler and Brandon Pruitt were the feature winners on a beautiful day at the speedway.

                Adam Kralik and David Sciranko brought the IMCA Sport Compacts to life to kick off the evenings feature races. David Archibald led lap number one only to have his car sputter coming out of turn four, handing the lead over to Jodie Maben. Maben would hold on and take the win over Sciranko, Kralik, Jordan Peters and Archibald. Archibald got the heat race win and Maben also won the Trophy Dash.

                IMCA Modifieds were up next with Scott Bash and Kent Croskey on the front row. Fourth starting Randy Havlik muscled his way into the lead on lap number one with Alison Quick hot on his tail. A lap twelve caution bunched the field together bringing Quick and Josh Gilman up to Havlikís bumper, but the driver of the #3Z Victory Chassis would have no late race drama and took home the feature win. Quick would win a hard fought second place battle with Gilman while Croskey and Rex Parkison rounded out the top five. Bash was the heat race winner.

                Anthony Onstot and Jodie Maben were front row starters as the 6 cylinder FWDís took to the track. Onstot led the first three laps until a caution came out for Casey Tucker in turn two. Once the mess was cleaned up, Jim Britton took over the top spot and went on to win over Onstot, Tucker, David Sciranko and Maben. Onstot was the heat race winner.

                IMCA Northern Sportmods came out next with Lukas Onstot and Matt Hays on the front row. After a caution came out before a lap was completed, Nick Roberts took the top spot and looked to run away with the race. A lap nine yellow erased that lead and bunched the field up for a final time. As Roberts continued to lead, tenth starting Mike Pruitt began his march to the front on the top side of the speedway. With three laps to go Pruitt caught up with Roberts on the backstretch and as the green flag was held high, Pruitt took over and led the final two laps to pick up the feature win. Roberts came home second, Trevor Oberholtz third, David Schlicht fourth and Josh Modde fifth. Schlicht and Roberts got the heat race wins.

                Joe Zadina and Scott Bailey brought out the IMCA Stock Cars next for their twenty lap feature. Bailey led the first two laps until Bob Daniels took over. Daniels led through three caution flags for five laps when Randy Killen, who was involved in an early yellow and restarted at the back, snatched the top spot and looked to run away from the field. About then, Jeremy Gettler found a faster groove on the top and on lap fifteen rocketed into the lead. Gettler was challenged by Killen with the two racing side by side at times, but they would stay clean and green till the end with Gettler getting the win. Killen, Daniels, Jeff Anderson and Steve Campbell rounded out the top five. Zadina and Killen took home the heat race wins.

                IMCA Hobby Stocks graced the stage last with Ed Mahlstedt and Shannon Anderson showing the way to the green flag. Anderson took immediate control with Curt Ganoe following close behind. Eighth starting Brandon Pruitt worked his way into third by lap four and the three would hold steady through lap thirteen. At that point the bad luck that has followed Anderson lately struck again with mechanical failure coming out of turn two. With a lap car in the mix, Pruitt swung around all three cars to snag the lead, and as has been the case for five out of the first six nights, the #10B Penetrator Hobby Stock found victory lane. Ganoe took home second place with Cory Adams, Randy Embrey and Austin Luellen wrapping up the top five. Luellen and Ganoe got the heat race wins.

Thanks to all who came to watch and race. We couldnít do any of this without you! Please join us next week for Adair Lumber Company Night at the Races!

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 8 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia    
2 5 20    Curt Ganoe    Stuart , Ia    
3 1 27c    Cory Adams    Des Moines, Ia    
4 10 40    Randy Embrey $    Granger , Ia    
5 7 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia    
6 6 27    Jason Kohl    Missouri Valley, Ia    
7 4 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia    
8 13 38R    Aaron Rudolph    Grand Junction, Ia    
9 12 12A    Rob Allison    Des Moines, Ia    
10 2 67    Ed Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia    
11 11 35X    Phillip Castellano    Norwalk , Ia    
12 15 17    Nathan Lange    Stuart , Ia    
13 9 11    David Castellano    Des Moines, Ia    
14 16 1BC    Tony Cox     -    
15 3 78    Shannon Anderson    Atlantic , Ia    
16 14 35    Gina Gruebel    Lacona , Ia    


Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 4 23A    Jeremy Gettler    Adair , Ia    
2 6 81x    Randy Killen    Des Moines, Ia    
3 5 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia    
4 12 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia    
5 7 11    Steve Campbell    Des Moines, Ia    
6 10 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia    
7 11 48    Kevin Godwin    Earlham , Ia    
8 9 1K    Tom Killen    Des Moines, Ia    
9 16 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia    
10 1 3    Joe Zadina    Corning , Ia    
11 15 56    Jamie Schirm    Dexter , Ia    
12 3 64    Scott Bailey    Carlisle , Ia    
13 14 711    Michael Walrod    Desoto , Ia    
14 13 77T    Trenton Jeanes    Chariton , Ia    
15 8 3S    Bryan Snell    Coon Rapids, Ia    
16 2 54    Robbie Merkle    Des Moines, Ia    


SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 10 92P    Michael Pruitt    Redfield , Ia    
2 4 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia    
3 6 46    Trevor Oberholtz    Adair , Ia    
4 9 19    David Schlicht    Grand Junction, Ia    
5 12 30X    Josh Modde    Des Moines, Ia    
6 5 3L    Clinton Luellen    Minburn , Ia    
7 13 64    Casey Gruebel    Lacona , Ia    
8 3 A5    Austin Paul    Monroe , Ia    
9 8 32L    Ty Luellen    Minburn , Ia    
10 14 28    James Reichart    Winterset , Ia    
11 1 66L    Lukas Onstot    Norwalk , Ia    
12 7 34J    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia    
13 2 42    Matt Hays    Panora , Ia    
14 11 13T    Taylor Musselman    Norwalk , Ia    
15 17 22    Clinton Brooks    Indianola , Ia    
16 15 22B    Brian Eppert    Boone , Ia    
17 16 99K    Kody Havens    Wiota , Ia    


Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 4 3z    Randy Havlik    Madrid , Ia    
2 1 37    Alison Quick    Redding , Ia    
3 5 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia    
4 2 12C    Kent Croskey    Polk City, Ia    
5 7 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia    
6 6 4    Tony Hilgenberg    Waukee , Ia    
7 8 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia    
8 3 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia    


Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 7M    Jodie Maben    Clearfield , Ia    
2 2 86    David Sciranko    Harlan , Ia    
3 1 199    Adam Kralik    Orient , Ia    
4 3 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia    
5 4 82B    David Archibald    Harlan , Ia    


6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 4 51B    Jim Britton    Indianola , Ia    
2 1 01A    Anthony Onstot    Norwalk , Ia    
3 5 27T    Casey Tucker    Lorimor , Ia    
4 3 86    David Sciranko    Harlan , Ia    
5 2 7M    Jodie Maben    Clearfield , Ia    
6 6 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia