Ganoe Shines in Farewell Race

Story by Josh Reynolds

                Stuart, IA (July 24) – Another hot Sunday night at Stuart Speedway produced some great racing along with a first time winner for the season. Jodie Maben(Sport Compacts and 6 Cylinder FWD’s), David Schlicht, Jeremy Gettler, Curt Ganoe and Randy Havlik were the feature winners on Haley Equipment Inc. Night at the Races.

                The IMCA Sport Compacts were up first with Devan Stuve and Jordan Peters on the front row. The cars wouldn’t even make it to the back stretch as Peters and Stuve came together and Stuve climbed the wall in turn one and rolled over back onto the track. Stuve was OK, but she would be done for the night. That left Jodie Maben and Peters to duke it out for the win, and duke it out they did! Maben led the first two laps with Peters leading the next three. The two crossed the line with two laps to go and Maben took over the rest of the way to pick up the win. Peters was second with Stuve third. Stuve was the heat race winner.

                Joe Simbro and Austin Paul brought out the IMCA Northern Sportmods next for their fifteen lap feature. Cole Ferguson took charge from his third starting spot to lead until a lap four caution. On the restart David Schlicht took over the lead with Ferguson and Jake Strayer close behind. Nick Roberts backed it into the turn one wall to bring out the final caution on lap nine, bunching the field and setting up a dash to the finish. Schlicht held strong and pulled away for the win followed by Strayer, Clinton Luellen, Casey Gruebel and Ty Luellen. Ferguson and Kody Havens were the heat race winners.

                IMCA Stock Cars came out next with Michael Walrod and Jamie Schirm leading the field to green. Schirm took control right away and led until Bob Daniels found a way around him on lap five. Daniels led until lap thirteen when Jeremy Gettler took over the top spot. Gettler led with Daniels in second when Daniels lost a left rear tire on lap seventeen. The tire shot off of the turn four wall and into the pits, but fortunately no one was injured. This would set up a three lap shootout for the win between Gettler and Steve Campbell. Campbell stuck to Gettler like glue until the white flag when Gettler was able to stretch his lead just enough and went on to take the checkered flag. Campbell hung on for second with Jeff Anderson third, Jamie Schirm fourth and Aaron Parmer fifth. Schirm and Bryan Snell were the heat race winners.

                Andy Forcht and Jake Coughennower led the 6 Cylinder FWD’s to green with Coughennower pacing the first two laps. Jodie Maben took over the top spot on lap three and sailed to the caution free win followed by Jim Britton, Coughennower, Forcht and Jordan Peters. Maben was also the heat race winner.

                IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Rick Reiter and Andy Mahlstedt on the front row. Nyle Godwin led the first lap, but that wouldn’t last long as Curt Ganoe took command on lap two. A lap eleven caution was the only thing that slowed down Ganoe, and as the green flag flew so did the #20 to pick up his first win of the year. After a post-race burnout up against the front stretch wall, Ganoe said in his victory lane interview that he was retiring from weekly racing and his son Nick would be in the car next week. Knowing Curt for over 25 years, I’m guessing he’ll be back in a car at some point whether it’s a special event or just a random race for his fans. Ganoe was followed across the line by Nyle Godwin, Brandon Pruitt, Eric Stanton and Austin Luellen. Ganoe and Stanton were the heat race winners and Stanton also won the trophy dash.

                IMCA Modifieds were the closers for the night with Rex Parkison and Alison Quick leading the field to green. Randy Havlik would snag the top spot for lap one ahead of Josh Gilman and Quick and set up what has become a very familiar sight for fans at Stuart this year. The three stuck together for a few laps until Havlik and Gilman began to separate themselves from Quick. With lap traffic coming, Gilman made a move to the inside and pressured Havlik a bit when a caution flag came out for debris as Parkison blew a motor. After a few laps of cleanup the green flag flew once again with Havlik and Gilman putting on one of the best battles for the lead we’ve seen all year! Unfortunately for Gilman as the white flag flew and he tried to set up Havlik for one last try for the win his car made a right turn and he hit the turn one wall, bringing out the yellow flag. The race would end under a yellow checker finish with Havlik getting the win. Shay Woods finished up in second with Scott Bash third, Devon Havlik fourth and Tony Hilgenberg fifth. Because Gilman was the cause of the yellow flag, he was relegated to a sixth place finish. Parkison was the heat race winner.

                Thanks to all of the drivers and fans who came out and supported the track on another warm Sunday evening. Please join us next week for Sportsman’s Warehouse Night at the Races!
Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 20    Curt Ganoe    Stuart , Ia  
2 4 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia  
3 7 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia  
4 8 7B    Eric Stanton    Hartford , Ia  
5 6 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
6 3 17    Nathan Lange    Stuart , Ia  
7 9 12A    Rob Allison    Des Moines, Ia  
8 1 22S    Rick Reiter    Des Moines, Ia  
9 10 17X    Lee Farmer    Bethany , Mo  
10 13 27    Jason Kohl    Missouri Valley, Ia  
11 2 66    Andy Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia  
12 14 11    David Castellano    Des Moines, Ia  
13 11 35    Gina Gruebel    Lacona , Ia  
14 12 67    Ed Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia    

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 23A    Jeremy Gettler    Adair , Ia  
2 6 11    Steve Campbell    Des Moines, Ia  
3 8 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia  
4 2 56    Jamie Schirm    Dexter , Ia  
5 10 68    Aaron Parmer    Humeston , Ia  
6 12 48    Kevin Godwin    Earlham , Ia  
7 9 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
8 14 4    Ron Godwin    Earlham , Ia  
9 1 711    Michael Walrod    Desoto , Ia  
10 13 11S    Scott Seaman    Des Moines, Ia  
11 3 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia  
12 4 3S    Bryan Snell    Coon Rapids, Ia  
13 7 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia  
14 11 5X    Ross Marshall    Johnston , Ia  

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 7 19    David Schlicht    Grand Junction, Ia  
2 10 18J    Jake Strayer    Newton , Ia  
3 6 3L    Clinton Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
4 5 64    Casey Gruebel    Lacona , Ia  
5 13 32L    Ty Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
6 12 34J    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia  
7 11 72    Rick Ringgenberg    Kelley , Ia  
8 1 56    Joe Simbro    Swan , Ia  
9 2 A5    Austin Paul    Monroe , Ia  
10 3 3F    Cole Ferguson    Dexter , Ia  
11 9 92P    Michael Pruitt    Redfield , Ia  
12 8 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia  
13 4 99K    Kody Havens    Wiota , Ia  

Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 3 3z    Randy Havlik    Madrid , Ia  
2 5 20W    Shay Woods    Humeston , Ia  
3 6 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia  
4 7 5D    Devon Havlik    Iowa Falls, Ia  
5 8 4    Tony Hilgenberg    Waukee , Ia  
6 4 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia  
7 2 37    Alison Quick    Redding , Ia  
8 1 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia  
9 9 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia  

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 3 7M    Jodie Maben    Clearfield , Ia  
2 2 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia  
3 1 7    Devan Stuve    Des Moines, Ia  

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 7M    Jodie Maben    Clearfield , Ia  
2 4 51B    Jim Britton    Indianola , Ia  
3 2 90    Jake Coughennower    Indianola , Ia  
4 3 17    Andy Forcht    Stuart , Ia  
5 6 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia  
6 1 7    Devan Stuve    Des Moines, Ia