Track Champions Named at Stuart Speedway
Story by Josh Reynolds

                Stuart, IA (August 17) – Our six regular classes named their Track Champions for 2014, but not until some great side by side action took place at the fastest bullring in the Midwest! Marcus Fagan, Clint Luellen, Logan Richards, Luke Wanninger, Andy Forcht and Jamie Schirm were the winners on Plowman/Stanley Trenching Night at the Races. Brian Blessington, Luellen, Cody Cleghorn, Josh Gilman, Korbin Nourse and Shannon Anderson are the 2014 Stuart Speedway Track Champions.
IMCA Stock Cars came out first after heat races with Brian Blessington and Marcus Fagan on the front row. Fagan, Blessington and Jeff Anderson would run 1-2-3 for the duration with Fagan picking up the win. Bob Staiert and Chris Onstot rounded out the top five with Blessington winning the heat race. Blessington picked up the track title with 4 wins, 11 top fives and 11 top tens in 11 starts. Congrats Brian!
IMCA Northern SportMods were up next with Clint Luellen and Shawn Cooney leading the field to green. Luellen, Brandon Williams and Cooney made up the top three until Kody Havens moved into third on lap four. Two laps later Havens made it to second with Jake McBirnie following into third, but back up front it was Luellen leading the pack. A caution on lap eleven slowed the field and gave Havens and McBirnie a shot at the win, but Luellen did as has done most of the year in central Iowa and closed the deal to take the win. McBirnie passed Havens on lap fourteen and took home second, Havens finished third, Williams fourth and Ty Luellen ended in fifth. Havens and Cooney were the heat race winners. Clint Luellen is your track champ with 8 wins, 11 top fives and 11 top tens in 11 starts. Congrats Clint!
Dean and Logan Richards led the IMCA Sport Compacts to green next with heat race winner Logan leading all the way to take the win. Dean finished second and Cody Cleghorn was third. Cleghorn is the track titlist with 7 wins, 11 top fives and 11 top tens in 11 starts. Congrats Cody!
IMCA Modifieds came out next with Josh Gilman and Cole Ferguson on the front row. Gilman led over Nick Roberts until Luke Wanninger took over second on lap five. Wanninger would slowly reel in Gilman and finally take over the lead on lap fifteen just before a caution came out for debris. Gilman and Roberts had one last shot, but Wanninger was too strong and went on to the feature win. Gilman was second, Roberts third, Todd VanEaton fourth and Ferguson fifth. Gilman and Wanninger were the heat race winners. Gilman won the track title with 1 win, 10 top fives and 11 top tens in eleven starts. Congrats Josh!
Outlaw FWD’s were up next with Korbin Nourse and Dean Richards leading the field to the green flag. Nourse led the first five laps with James Hawxby moving by for the lead on lap six. Hawxby led one more circuit until Andy Forcht took over on lap eight. Forcht, the heat race winner, went on to the win with Hawxby second, Nourse third, Jamie Coady fourth and Richards fifth. Nourse is the track titlist with 2 wins, 10 top fives and 11 top tens in 11 starts. Congrats Korbin!
Shannon Anderson and Austin Luellen brought out the IMCA Hobby Stocks for the last regular race for the evening. Anderson led over Jamie Schirm and Luellen and looked to ride off into the sunset to the win. That all came to an end on lap nine as Schirm used a lap car as a pick and took the lead. Anderson followed close behind and looked for a way around Schirm, but pushed up in turn four late in the race and allowed Schirm to pull away for the win. Anderson took home second with John Watson third, Luellen fourth and Jamie Songer fifth. Schirm, Songer and Andrew Burg were the heat race winners. Anderson won the track title with 5 wins, 10 top fives and 10 top tens in 11 starts. Congrats Shannon!
Once the regular night of racing concluded there was a Powder Puff held with Bailey Godwin coming out as the overall winner. Christina Powell was second with Ashley Briant third, Shelly Rudolf fourth and Alyse Leonard fifth. Congrats to all the ladies that raced!
We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our eleventh event of the year. There will be no racing next week as Rocktastic II is at the Speedway. Oreo Meatwagon plays at 3:30pm, Head East at 5:30pm and FireHouse at 7:30pm. The following week will be the Kinzie Service Night Before Nationals Special. It will be draw/redraw for all classes and we will have Micro Sprints, Mod Lites, Stock Cars and Modifieds. This will be our last race of the year so don’t miss it! See you then!


Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 6 20    Luke Wanninger    Minburn , Ia  
2 1 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia  
3 3 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia  
4 8 V31    Todd Vaneaton    Orient , Ia  
5 2 3F    Cole Ferguson    Dexter , Ia  
6 10 71    Jeff James    Stanton , Ia  
7 4 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
8 9 56    Russell Stewart    Mt. Ayr, Ia  
9 11 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia  
10 5 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia  
11 13 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia   DNF
12 7 5D    Devon Havlik    Iowa Falls, Ia   DNF
13 12 14    Ron Bash    Stuart , Ia   DNS

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 2 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
2 1 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia  
3 3 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia  
4 4 14S    Bob Staiert    Arcadia , Ia  
5 5 20C    Chris Onstot    Saint Charles, Ia  
6 7 19    Brandon Bach    Des Moines, Ia   DNF
7 6 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia   DNS

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 1 3L    Clint Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
2 10 82    Jake Mcbirnie    Boone , Ia  
3 7 99K    Kody Havens    Wiota , Ia  
4 3 67X    Brandon Williams    Des Moines, Ia  
5 9 32L    Ty Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
6 4 8CR    Chase Rudolf    Prole , Ia  
7 5 1    Kendall Davis    Des Moines, Ia  
8 8 93N    Colton Nelson    Osceola , Ia  
9 2 30    Shawn Cooney    Des Moines, Ia  
10 6 99RE    Arie Schouten    Blair , Ne  
11 14 39    Larry Embrey    Madrid , Ia  
12 13 14    Daniel Latture    Omaha , Ne  
13 15 88    Hunter Weber    Council Bluffs, Ia  
14 16 42    Matt Hays    Stuart , Ia   DNF
15 11 6M    Jason Mason    Melcher , Ia   DNF
16 12 8R    Randy Rudolf    Norwalk , Ia   DNS

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 4 56    Jamie Schirm    Dexter , Ia  
2 1 78    Shannon Anderson    Des Moines, Ia  
3 11 4W    John Watson    Des Moines, Ia  
4 2 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
5 9 96R    Jamie Songer    Ankeny , Ia  
6 16 20    Jeremy Auten    Clarinda , Ia  
7 3 78B    Andrew Burg    Adel , Ia  
8 6 92    Buck Schafroth    Orient , Ia  
9 8 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia  
10 7 89R    Ryan Wells    Runnells , Ia  
11 13 49D    Bill Dawson    Des Moines, Ia  
12 10 66P    Troy Phillips    Prole , Ia  
13 14 5H    Andy Hick    Adel , Ia   DNF
14 5 77    Derek Hodges    Des Moines, Ia   DNF
15 17 12G    Jeremy Ribbey    Clarinda , Ia   DNF
16 18 57M    David Mcquiston    Van Meter, Ia   DNF
17 19 01F    Jeff Fink    Denison , Ia   DNF
18 15 42T    Tyson Overton    Carlisle , Ia   DNF
19 12 47    Raymond Fees    Des Moines, Ia   DNF
20 20 6    Bryan Keeney    Nevada , Ia   DNS

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 2 97    Logan Richards    Creston , Ia  
2 1 69X    Dean Richards    Creston , Ia  
3 3 21ZC    Cody Cleghorn    Des Moines, Ia   DNF

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 3 17    Andy Forcht    Stuart , Ia
2 4 11    James Hawxby    Des Moines, Ia
3 1 12    Korbin Nourse    Dexter , Ia
4 5 56J    Jamie Coady    Colfax , Ia DNF
5 2 69X    Dean Richards    Creston , Ia DNF
6 6 21ZC    Cody Cleghorn    Des Moines, Ia DNS