Click back to the News Page

Cooney Takes Third Straight
Stuart, IA (August 4) – Fans, drivers and crew returned to Stuart Speedway for night number eleven of the season and they would be treated to some great side by side racing! Shawn Cooney, Josh Gilman, Nick Roberts, Andy Forcht, Brian Blessington, Shannon Anderson and Todd Cooney were the winners on Luellen Farms/Farm Boy Bodies Night at the Races.
Starting off the night was the IMCA Sport Compacts with Brad Egenberger and Shawn Cooney on the front row. This race was all Cooney as he picked up his fifth win of the season. Egenberger, the heat race winner, and Justin McKinney rounded out the field.
IMCA Modifieds came out next with Tony Hilgenberg and Jeff Joldersma leading the pack to the green flag. Joldersma led lap one, but would be black flagged the next lap for leaking fuel, handing the lead to Scott Bash. Josh Gilman moved into the lead on lap three and that was the last chance the field had at the win as Gilman checked out for the win, his second of the year. Bash finished second with Parkison third, Hilgenberg fourth and Ed Seibert fifth in the caution free race. Joldersma was the heat race winner.
Jordan Peters and Arie Schouten brought out the IMCA Northern Sportmods next with Colby Oberembt leading lap one. Peters and Ty Luellen made contact on lap two with Luellen coming to a stop in turn four, bringing out the caution and ending Peters night with the black flag for questionable driving. In all the chaos, Nick Roberts emerged as the leader. Once the race started back up, Roberts lead with Clinton Luellen moving into second and chasing after Roberts. As the race wound down, the two separated themselves from the pack and set things up for a great finish! C. Luellen threw everything he had at the win, but Roberts was too strong and went on to the win, his second of the year. C. Luellen finished second with Matt Webb third, Cole Ferguson fourth and Ty Luellen fifth. Oberembt and Webb were the heat race winners.
6 Cylinder FWD’s came out next with Cory Sauerman and Andy Forcht on the front row. Sauerman, the heat race winner, led the first two laps with Forcht moving by on lap three. Forcht would go on to the win, his sixth of the year. Sauerman finished second with Jerry Richards rounding out the field.
IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Michael Walrod and Bryan Snell setting the pace. Snell led through a couple of early cautions with Walrod, Chris Pruitt and Brian Blessington fighting hard for second place. Blessington used the top side to make the pass for the lead on lap six with a third yellow coming out on lap seven. A final caution on lap twelve tightened up the field for one last restart, this time with old familiar foe Jeff Anderson on the back bumper of Blessington. Anderson went high and low, but just didn’t have enough left in the tank as Blessington went on to the win, his second of the season. Anderson finished in second with Snell third, Jeff Joldersma fourth and Marcus Fagan fifth. Snell and Blessington were the heat race winners.
Justin McKinney and Jeff Fink brought out the IMCA Hobby Stocks next for their fifteen lap feature. Fink led early until Austin Luellen came to a stop on the backstretch to bring out the caution. When the race started back up, Shannon Anderson moved by Fink for the lead and looked to check out on the field. Kenny Champ got into second on lap five and set out to track down Anderson. Champ would get close to Anderson with a caution for a spin by James Phillips with two laps to go tightening up the field for a final restart. Once the cars took the green flag Anderson took charge and went on to the win, his eighth of the year. Champ crossed in second with Andrew Burg third, Jamie Songer fourth and Fink fifth. Cory Adams and Anderson were the heat race winners.
Last up on the night was the IMCA Late Models with Paul Conrad and Randy Foote on the front row. Foote took the lead right away with Conrad and then Todd Cooney in tow. Cooney wasted little time in getting to the front, taking the top spot on lap five. From there it was the Cooney show as he went on to win his third race in as many starts in the caution free event. Foote finished second with Darrel DeFrance third, Al Zeitner fourth and Corey Zeitner fifth. Cooney and Foote were the heat race winners.
We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track last night. Please join us next Sunday for Ganoe Excavating Night at the Races with the Season Championship for IMCA Late Models. Remember, there are no number fees for the rest of the season at Stuart so tell your friends and bring a car for some great side by side racing! See you then!

Late Models - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 6 30    Todd Cooney    Des Moines, Ia  
2 2 37    Randy Foote    Stanton , Ia  
3 7 99D    Darrel Defrance    Marshalltown , Ia  
4 5 76    Al Zeitner    Bellevue , Ne  
5 12 26JR    Corey Zeitner    Omaha , Ne  
6 1 23    Paul Conrad    Colo , Ia  
7 9 92    Josh Most    Red Oak, Ia  
8 3 15C    Curt Schroeder    Ames , Ia  
9 10 33X    Nick Marolf    Moscow , Ia  
10 4 33    Paul Glendenning    Mount Ayr, Ia  
11 11 11    Randy Faux    Earlham , Ia  
12 8 2V    Vic Lovejoy    Minilla , Ia  

Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia  
2 4 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia  
3 3 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia  
4 1 4    Tony Hilgenberg    Waukee , Ia  
5 6 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia  
6 2 66    Jeff Joldersma    Mcclelland , Ia  
7 7 14    Ron Bash    Stuart , Ia   DNS

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 7 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia  
2 6 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia  
3 2 3S    Bryan Snell    Coon Rapids, Ia  
4 8 66    Jeff Joldersma    Mcclelland , Ia  
5 9 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
6 3 22    Chris Pruitt    Stuart , Ia  
7 4 4W    John Watson    Des Moines, Ia  
8 12 14S    Bob Staiert    Arcadia , Ia  
9 10 22B    Josh Brauckman    Carroll , Ia  
10 1 711    Michael Walrod    Desoto , Ia  
11 11 57    Keith Kuder    Rose Hill, Ia  
12 5 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia  
13 13 27X    Alvin Dudley    Des Moines, Ia   DNS

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 5 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia  
2 9 3L    Clinton Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
3 7 51X    Matt Webb    Des Moines, Ia  
4 8 3F    Cole Ferguson    Dexter , Ia  
5 6 32L    Ty Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
6 3 0B    Colby Oberembt    Adel , Ia  
7 2 99RE    Arie Schouten    Blair , Ne  
8 4 34    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia  
9 1 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia  
10 10 42    Matt Hays    Stuart , Ia   DNS

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 9 78    Shannon Anderson    Urbandale , Ia  
2 5 3    Kenny Champ    Clarinda , Ia  
3 8 78B    Andrew Burg    Adel , Ia  
4 6 2013    Jamie Songer    Johnston , Ia  
5 2 01F    Jeff Fink    Denison , Ia  
6 4 7C    Chad Legere    Des Moines, Ia  
7 13 224    Gina Greubel    Lacona , Ia  
8 3 77C    Andy Coffman    Des Moines, Ia  
9 11 77    Derek Hodges    Des Moines, Ia  
10 1 0    Justin Mckinney    Creston , Ia  
11 12 66P    James Phillips    Prole , Ia  
12 7 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
13 10 27C    Cory Adams    Des Moines, Ia  

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 2 30    Shawn Cooney    Des Moines, Ia  
2 1 30X    Brad Egenberger    Des Moines, Ia  
3 3 J0    Justin Mckinney    Creston , Ia  

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 2 17    Andy Forcht    Stuart , Ia
2 1 56    Cory Sauerman    Grimes , Ia
3 3 J0    Jerry Richards    Creston , Ia