Back to 2007 Results

September 2nd Story/ Results


It was a perfect night for racing at the Stuart Speedway in Stuart, Iowa on Sunday, September 2 as the racers and fans celebrated the holiday weekend with clear blue skies, comfortable temperatures, great track conditions, and good, clean racing action.

Marcus Fagan of Adair was also perfect as he took the checkers in the first IMCA Hobby Stock heat race and went on to win the main event. Steve Roberts of Ankeny looked poised to give Fagan a run for his money in the main before retiring with mechanical problems with just 2 laps remaining. Brian Snell of Coon Rapids is your current point leader in the Hobby Stock division, with Shannon Anderson of Atlantic just 6 points behind in second. Adam Bonnett of Norwalk lurks in third, just five points behind Anderson and 13 points from the top.

The IMCA Stock Cars were once again the class of the field as the points battle continued. Mike Nichols of Harlan and Brian Blessington of Breda, the top two men in points going into the evening, both picked up heat race wins along with Kent Croskey of Polk City. That set the stage for a feature event that saw three and four-wide racing for several laps. In the end, it was David Smith of Lake City the victor, with Mike Nichols a close second, Michael Pruitt of Redfield third, and Kent Croskey rounding out the top four. Nichols earned a little breathing room in the points battle over Brian Blessington when Blessington was forced to the pits on lap 4 of the 20-lap main event when his front hood pins gave way and blocked his view. Nichols now holds a 16-point lead over Blessington with two weeks to go in the 2007 season. 

The car count may have been small, but that didnít stop the IMCA Sport Mods from giving the fans one of the best races of the night. Damon Frommelt of Boone took the early lead in the 15-lap main event as Fred Schimmels of Van Meter quietly worked his way through the field to second place by lap 5. Frommelt and Schimmels raced door to door from lap 5 to the finish with Schimmels trolling the bottom and Frommelt high winding it on the high side. Schimmels grabbed the lead on lap 8, but Frommelt was not to be denied as he reclaimed the top stop on lap 13 and went on to victory, with Schimmels, Austin Kaplan of Ankeny, and Jimmy May of DeSoto rounding out the top four. Jimmy May remains the point leader, but just 14 points separates positions 2 through 4.

Bobby Bowman of Winterset and Scott Bash of Stuart picked up heat race wins in the IMCA Modifieds, with Stuart legend Terry Pruitt of Dexter taking home the hardware in the Caseyís General Store Trophy Dash. Michael Reichardt of Des Moines jumped into the lead at the start of the feature event as Terry Pruitt and Jimmy Gustin made their way toward the front. Gustin and Pruitt held the top 2 positions from laps 5 through 9 when Josh Gilman of Earlham stole second place from Pruitt. A yellow flag on lap 13 for a spin tightened up the field, but Gilman didnít have enough to hold off Gustin, as Jamminí Jimmy claimed another feature win. Gilman finished in 2nd, with a strong run by Rex Parkison in third, and Terry Pruitt fourth. Rex Parkison holds a mere two point lead over Jimmy Gustin heading into our next racing action on September 16. Only 20 points separate positions 1 through 6 so itís still anybodyís championship to win or lose.


IMCA Hobby Stocks

      Heat 1: Marcus Fagan, Adair

      Heat 2: Steve Roberts, Ankeny

      A-Main: Marcus Fagan

                  Shannon Anderson

                  Bryan Snell

                  Mike Hansen, Exira

                  Brandon Pruitt, Dexter

                  Nyle Godwin, Redfield

                  Adam Bonnett, Norwalk

                  Andrew Burg, Adel

                  Nate Lange, Menlo

                  Brandon Holbrook, Chariton

                  Steve Roberts

                  Keith Miner, Granger

                  Matt Wahlert, Waukee

IMCA Stock Cars

      Heat 1: Mike Nichols, Harlan

      Heat 2: Brian Blessington, Breda

      Heat 3: Kent Croskey, Polk City

      A-Main: David Smith, Lake City

                  Mike Nichols

                  Michael Pruitt

                  Kent Croskey

                  Jay Cain, Waukee

                  Josh Daniels, Des Moines

                  Jamie Morey, Earlham

                  Steve Campbell, Des Moines

                  Gary Foxworthy, Trimble, MO

                  Chad Dolin, Gibbon, NE 
   Rick Houseman, Winterset

                  Rick Speck, Garwin

                  John Wilson, Winterset

                  Norman Belew, Redfield

                  Jason Day, Stuart

                  Dan Sackett, Stuart

                  Jeremy Gettler, Adair

                  Brian Blessington

IMCA Sport Mods

      Heat 1: Josh May, DeSoto

      Heat 2: Fred Schimmels, Ankeny

      A-Main: Damon Frommelt, Boone

                  Fred Schimmels

                  Austin Kaplan, Ankeny

                  Jimmy May

                  Kevin Sather, Ankeny

                  Josh May, DeSoto

                  Jerry Hinton, Adel

                  Chris Wilson, Winterset

IMCA Modifieds

      Heat 1:  Bobby Bowman, Winterset

      Heat 2:  Scott Bash, Stuart

      Trophy Dash: Terry Pruitt, Dexter

      A-Main: Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown

                  Josh Gilman, Earlham

                  Rex Parkison, Earlham

                  Terry Pruitt

                  Chris Pruitt, Stuart

                  Bobby Bowman, Winterset

                  Michael Reichardt, Des Moines

                  Mike Dullard, Urbandale

                  Ed Lienemann, Adel

                  Ed Seibert, Dexter

                  Ben Hoesing, Boone

                  Ron Bash, Stuart

                  Scott Bash, Stuart