Track Champions Named at Stuart Speedway
Story by Josh Reynolds
Stuart, IA (August 30) – Regular season number 54 came to a close Sunday at Stuart Speedway with the crowning of 5 Track Champions. John Gill, Kody Havens, Brian Blessington, John Watson and Nick Roberts were the race winners on Plowman/Stanley Trenching Season Championship night with Jacob Reiter, Clint Luellen, Marcus Fagan, Watson and Roberts claiming the track titles.
IMCA Sport Compacts were the first ones on the track with visiting Aaron Miller leading the first five laps. The hotly contested top spot was taken on lap six by another visitor, John Gill. Gill would go on to the win over Jacob Reiter, Curtis Miller, Aaron Miller and Mike Cook. Curtis Miller was the heat race winner. Reiter was named the Track Champ by 27 points over Curtis Miller. Congrats Jacob!
IMCA Northern SportMods came out next, and point leader Clint Luellen gave the crowd something to cheer for when he opted to go to the tail to try and put on a show for the fans! Shawn Cooney led lap one with Dusty Masolini showing the way for the next three circuits. Kody Havens took over on lap five just before the yellow came out. Havens continued to lead, but the #3L was on the move and made it to second on lap eight! Havens held the top line as Luellen swung high and low trying to find a way around. As Luellen was searching, Jerry Hinton worked the bottom side of the track and made it past Luellen on lap nineteen. Havens went on to the win over Hinton, Luellen, Austin Luellen and Masolini. Austin Luellen and Chase Rudolf were the heat race winners. Clint Luellen took the track title by 49 points over Havens. Congrats Clint!
IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Brian Blessington leading lap one over Brandon Pruitt and Marcus Fagan. Fagan took second on lap two with Blessington continuing to lead. The top two stretched out the gap over third with Blessington maintaining the advantage until the end, taking the win over Fagan, Pruitt, Bob Daniels and Robert Merkle. Bryan Snell was the heat race winner. Fagan was named the track champ by 10 points over Blessington. Congrats Marcus!
The closest point battle of the season belonged to the IMCA Hobby Stocks as John Watson owned a 3 point advantage coming into the night over Austin Luellen. Watson, the heat race winner, would have no drama on this night as he set sail and led every lap to take the win. Buck Schafroth finished second with Luellen coming home third, Shawn Wirtz fourth and Brandon Pitts fifth. Watson took the title over Luellen by 5 points. Congrats John!
The last regular season race of the year fell to the IMCA Modifieds with Jeff James leading lap one. The lead was short lived, however, as James spun in turn one. Lap two was led by Nick Roberts with Todd VanEaton a close second. VanEaton worked the top side and took the lead on lap six, but Roberts stayed true to the bottom and took it back a lap later. Roberts began to stretch his lead, but Josh Gilman pulled up close behind with five laps to go. One small push in turn four was the downfall for the #83G as Roberts gapped him and went on to the win. Gilman finished second with VanEaton third, James fourth and Matt Webb fifth. James was the heat race winner. Roberts was named the titlist by 67 points over Gilman. Congrats Nick!
We ran two powder puff races afterwards with Bailey Pruitt taking the win in the fendered division and Shelly Rudolf winning the non-fendered division. Congrats ladies!
Next week will be the Kinzie Services Night Before the Nationals featuring the Clint Walrod Memorial. The IMCA Modifieds and Stock Cars will throw down with $1000 to win in each class. The Mod Lites will race in the Clint Walrod Memorial and the Micro Sprints will also be on the card racing in the Kylie Hunter Memorial. This will be our last event for 2015, so come on out and enjoy some great racing! See you then!

Modifieds - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 5 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia 39.00
2 6 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia 38.00
3 2 V31    Todd Vaneaton    Orient , Ia 37.00
4 1 71    Jeff James    Stanton , Ia 36.00
5 3 51X    Matthew Webb    Des Moines, Ia 35.00
6 4 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia 34.00
7 8 74S    Chris Sieweke    Santa Rosa, Ca 33.00
8 7 14    Ron Bash    Stuart , Ia 32.00
9 9 1BC    Tony Cox    Boone , Ia 31.00 DNF

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 1 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia  
2 4 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
3 2 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia  
4 3 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia  
5 6 54    Robert Merkle    Des Moines, Ia  
6 5 3S    Bryan Snell    Coon Rapids, Ia  
7 9 12    Adam Hagen    Des Moines, Ia  
8 8 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia  
9 7 25J    Josh Daniels    Carlisle , Ia   DNF

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 2 99K    Kody Havens    Wiota , Ia  
2 7 34    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia  
3 1 3L    Clint Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
4 8 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
5 5 8    Dusty Masolini    Des Moines, Ia  
6 6 8R    Chase Rudolf    Prole , Ia  
7 3 30    Shawn Cooney    Des Moines, Ia  
8 4 99RE    Arie Schouten    Blair , Ne  
9 13 25    Buddy Jones    Council Bluffs, Ia  
10 10 3    Kyle Tanner    Fontanelle , Ia  
11 11 99W    Hunter Weber    Council Bluffs, Ia   DNF
12 9 16A    Bryce Allen    Imogene , Ia   DNF
13 12 02    James Lewis    Rochester Mills, Mi   DNF
14 14 98    Thomas Egenberger    Des Moines, Ia   DNF

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 1 4W    John Watson    Des Moines, Ia  
2 2 92    Buck Schafroth    Orient , Ia  
3 6 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
4 5 47W    Shawn Wirtz    Boone , Ia  
5 7 42Z    Brandon Pitts    Ames , Ia  
6 4 7M    Matt Tiernan    Stuart , Ia  
7 3 12    Korbin Nourse    Dexter , Ia   DNF

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 6 02    John Gill    Marshalltown , Ia
2 3 30X    Jacob Reiter    Des Moines, Ia
3 4 411    Curtis Miller    Lewis , Ia
4 1 01    Aaron Miller    Marshalltown , Ia
5 5 87    Mike Cook    Indianola , Ia
6 2 7M    Jacob Mertz    Redfield , Ia DNF
7 8 6GK    Ralph Bunce    Pleasant Hill, Ia DNS
8 7 7    Jon Walker    Marshalltown , Ia DNS