Ferguson Finds Victory Lane for First Win

Stuart, IA (August 12) – Mother Nature finally smiled down on Stuart Speedway with a cool, overcast evening, but the racing was hot and fast with faces new and old taking home the hardware. Jordan Peters, Cole Ferguson, Marcus Fagan, Josh Gilman, Jason Kohl and Andy Forcht took the wins on Hawkeye Auto Salvage/Luellen Farms/Farmboy Bodies Night at the Races.
IMCA Sport Compacts came out first with Nash Coe and Jordan Peters setting the pace. Coe led the first lap, but it was all Peters after that as Jordan picked up his fifth win of the year. Coe, the heat race winner, finished second. Peters will be the track champion this year as he has a 160 point lead over Scott Brown.
Matt Hays and Cole Ferguson brought out the IMCA Northern Sportmods next for their fifteen lap feature. Ferguson was the early leader with Kody Havens trying to track him down. David Schlicht moved past Austin Paul for third on lap ten with Ty Luellen close behind in fourth. Havens drove as hard as he could, but no one was a match for Ferguson on this night as he went on to pick up his first ever IMCA win in the caution free event. Havens crossed in second, but was docked two spots for jumping on the initial start. That moved Schlicht and Luellen into second and third, Havens fourth and Paul fifth. Ferguson and Havens were the heat race winners. Nick Roberts holds a 22 point lead over Mike Pruitt.
Twenty three IMCA Stock Cars came out next with Josh Daniels and Michael Walrod on the front row. Daniels would lead early with first Walrod and then Robert Stofer following close behind. Cory Bushnell moved past Stofer on lap seven and into the lead on lap eight. Marcus Fagan passed Daniels on lap ten for second and powered by Bushnell a lap later to take the lead. Brian Blessington took second on lap thirteen and chased down Fagan, closing in lap by lap and taking the lead on the bottom side on lap eighteen. Fagan stayed side by side with Blessington as the 92B led at the white flag, and as the cars came out of turn two, Blessington held the lead. Fagan stayed true to the top side and coming out of turn four, with the crowd on their feet, moved about a half a car length ahead to take his second win of the year! Blessington took second with Jeff Anderson third, Daniels fourth and Bushnell fifth. Bushnell, Anderson and Jeff Joldersma were the heat race winners. Fagan moved back into the point lead over Joldersma by 5 and Blessington by 9.
Ron Bash and Devon Havlik brought out the IMCA Modifieds next for their twenty lap feature. Havlik led lap one with Bash second and Josh Gilman third. Gilman moved into second on lap two and three laps later took over the top spot. Havlik held onto second until Alison Davidson snuck by on lap eight. Davidson worked the track high and low, but try as she may there was no tracking down Gilman as he went on to his fourth win of the season in the caution free race. Davidson crossed in second with Havlik third, Rex Parkison fourth and Scott Bash fifth. Gilman made it a clean sweep with the heat race win. Gilman holds the point lead over Davidson by 34.
IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Ed Mahlstedt and Gina Greubel on the front row. Mahlstedt led lap one with Nathan Lange taking over on lap two. Lange would lead one more circuit until Jason Kohl moved past on lap four. Kohl held the lead through two cautions and went on to take the win, his first of the year. Bill Richards finished second with John Watson third, Brandon Pruitt fourth and Jamie Songer fifth. Songer and Richards were the heat race winners. Pruitt holds the point lead by 6 over Watson.
Jordan Peters and Andy Forcht brought out the 6 Cylinder FWD’s next with Forcht leading lap one. Forcht stretched the lead and looked to take the easy win until his car slowed on the backstretch on the last lap. Peters took the lead going into turn three just as Forcht’s car came to life and he drove under Peters and took the win, his eighth of the year. Forcht also won the heat race and will be the track champion this year as he has an 83 point lead over Peters.
Last up for the evening was the Mechanics race for the Sportmod class. Here is the lineup and who was driving what car:
8.0X Leroy Beaman 42 Dan Carl
A5 Chester Figland 32L Martin Volz
92P Matt Pruitt 99K Wade Oettchen
3L Doug Weiss 23JR Craig Roberts
Craig Roberts took off from shotgun on the field and led every lap, winning over Martin Volz, Wade Oettchen, Doug Weiss and Dan Carl.
We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track on a cool Sunday evening. Join us next week for Ganoe Excavating Night at the Races. IMCA Late Models return and there are only two action packed nights left in the regular season with point races tightening up! See you there!


Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 5 83G Josh Gilman Earlham , Ia 38.00
2 4 37 Alison Davidson Redding , Ia 37.00
3 2 5D Devon Havlik Iowa Falls, Ia 36.00
4 3 31R Rex Parkison Earlham , Ia 35.00
5 6 14B Scott Bash Windsor Heights, Ia 34.00
6 7 4 Tony Hilgenberg Waukee , Ia 33.00
7 1 14 Ron Bash Stuart , Ia 32.00
8 8 131S Ed Seibert Dexter , Ia 31.00

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 10 1F Marcus Fagan Adair , Ia 40.00
2 13 92B Brian Blessington Breda , Ia 39.00
3 9 78 Jeff Anderson Atlantic , Ia 38.00
4 1 25J Josh Daniels Des Moines, Ia 37.00
5 7 55 Cory Bushnell Madrid , Ia 36.00
6 6 25 Bob Daniels Des Moines, Ia 35.00
7 11 66 Jeff Joldersma Mcclelland , Ia 34.00
8 12 21X Eric Rempel Palmyra , Ne 33.00
9 2 711 Michael Walrod Desoto , Ia 32.00
10 22 76 Norman Belew Granger , Ia 31.00
11 23 27S Doug Seidl Des Moines, Ia 30.00
12 14 6 Adam Hilgenberg Waukee , Ia 29.00
13 21 23A Jeremy Gettler Adair , Ia 28.00
14 4 50 Robert Stofer Jefferson , Ia 27.00
15 18 3S Bryan Snell Coon Rapids, Ia 26.00
16 17 4 Ron Godwin Earlham , Ia 25.00
17 5 64 Scott Bailey Carlisle , Ia 24.00
18 3 23H Rick Houseman Winterset , Ia 23.00
19 8 3 Joe Zadina Corning , Ia 22.00
20 19 11 Steve Campbell Des Moines, Ia 21.00
21 20 11G Nyle Godwin Redfield , Ia 20.00
22 15 98 Derrick Rohe Audubon , Ia 19.00
23 16 52 Ben Walding Des Moines, Ia 18.00  

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 3F Cole Ferguson Dexter , Ia 40.00
2 6 19 David Schlicht Grand Junction, Ia 39.00
3 5 32L Ty Luellen Minburn , Ia 38.00
4 3 99K Kody Havens Wiota , Ia 37.00
5 4 A5 Austin Paul Monroe , Ia 36.00
6 9 23JR Nick Roberts Des Moines, Ia 35.00
7 8 92P Michael Pruitt Redfield , Ia 34.00
8 10 80X Terry Pruitt Dexter , Ia 33.00
9 7 3L Clinton Luellen Minburn , Ia 32.00
10 11 56 Joe Simbro Swan , Ia 31.00
11 1 42 Matt Hays Panora , Ia 30.00

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 7 27 Jason Kohl Missouri Valley, Ia 40.00
2 10 22R Bill Richards Coon Rapids, Ia 39.00
3 8 4W John Watson Des Moines, Ia 38.00
4 9 10B Brandon Pruitt Dexter , Ia 37.00
5 6 96R Jamie Songer Ankeny , Ia 36.00
6 5 78B Andrew Burg Adel , Ia 35.00
7 1 67 Ed Mahlstedt Bagley , Ia 34.00
8 2 224 Gina Greubel Lacona , Ia 33.00
9 4 7C Chad Legere Des Moines, Ia 32.00
10 3 17 Nathan Lange Dexter , Ia 31.00
11 11 66 Andy Mahlstedt Bagley , Ia 30.00  
12 12 3A Austin Luellen Minburn , Ia 29.00  

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 18 Jordan Peters Des Moines, Ia 32.00
2 1 3 Nash Coe Stuart , Ia 31.00

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 17 Andy Forcht Stuart , Ia 32.00
2 1 18 Jordan Peters Des Moines, Ia 31.00