Click back to 2009 Results


Racing action at the Stuart Speedway brought both repeat and new winners.  
Johnny Mordock of Creston made a return trip to victory lane as he quickly made his way to the front to take the lead on lap 3 of the Dwarf Car main.  Jimmy May of DeSoto continued to challenge Mordock for the remainder of the race, but at the checkers it was Mordock with the win, Jimmy May second, Shane Hunter of Afton third, and Josh May of DeSoto fourth.  Mordock and Dusty Masolini of Des Moines picked up heat race wins.  Mordock also took home the hardware in the Casey's General Stores trophy dash.  
Point leader Shannon Anderson continued his winning ways in the IMCA Hobby Stocks.  Dylan Book of Adel led early, with Patrick Pellman of Creston, Rob Allison of Des Moines and Andrew Burg of Adel in pursuit.  Anderson stole the lead from Book on lap 6 and never look back as he picked up yet another win.  Andrew Burg had a nice run to finish second.  Rounding out the top four were Book and Eric Stanton of Hartford.  Allison, Stanton and Anderson claimed their respective heats.
After some bad racing luck on his previous appearances at the Stuart Speedway, Jimmy Gustin of Marshalltown was able to put it all together to pick up a feature win in the IMCA Modifieds.  Gustin used the low groove to move past Tyler VandeKamp of Ankeny and Rex Parkison of Earlham to assume the lead on lap one.  VandeKamp came back to challenge for the lead on the high side, while Randy Havlik of Waukee moved to third.  Josh Gilman took third from VandeKamp on lap 6 and it became a three-car shootout.  Gustin continued in the low groove, while Havlik and Gilman moved upstairs to close the gap. But, to no avail as Gustin was able to hold on for the win.  Havlik, Gilman and Nick Deal of Walnut rounded out the top four.  Deal and VandeKamp also won their respective heats.
Kevin Sather of Ankeny overcame mechanical problems in his heat to pick up the win in the IMCA Sport Mod A Main.  Mike Pruitt of Redfield looked strong in the opening laps, but was unable to hold off the hard charging Sather and Jake Strayer of Newton.  Sather and Strayer continued to run one and two for the remaining laps, with Pruitt coming home third.  John Watson of Des Moines was fourth.  Bill Wears of Des Moines was the winner of heat 1, with Strayer claiming heat 2.  
IMCA Sport Compact point leader Colton Nelson of Osceola looked poised to add to his point lead until falling victim to mechanical problems on lap 5 of the A Main.  That opened the door for Brandon Claussen of Avoca to move to the point.  However, that was short-lived as Claussen was black flagged for questionable driving on lap 6.  Garrett Nelson then assumed the lead and help on for the win, with Devan Stuve of Des Moines second and Tim Nelson of Osceola third.  Colton Nelson took the heat race win.
The IMCA Stock Cars put on another great show for the fans as they raced door to door from first on back for the entire 20-lap event.  Josh Daniels of Des Moines and Brian Blessington of Breda battled door to door for the lead, with Daniels in command.  Point leader Tim Bengard moved past Blessington on lap 14 for second and set his site on Daniels.  With Daniels in the low groove, Bengard moved high and sailed past Daniels for the lead on lap 16.  Daniels pressured Bengard for the remaining 4 laps, but was unable to make the pass as Bengard held on for the win.  Blessington came home third, and Bryan Snell of Coon Rapids had a nice run to fourth.  Marcus Fagan of Adair and Tim Feltner of Earlham claimed their respective heats.
Hobby Stocks - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 10 78    Shannon Anderson
2 7 78B    Andrew Burg
3 4 B00K    Dylan Book
4 9 7B    Eric Stanton
5 12 20    Curt Ganoe
6 6 51    Matt Webb
7 2 3    Patrick Pellman
8 8 11G    Nyle Godwin
9 18 39    Larry Embrey
10 16 79    Charles Belew
11 13 67X    Andy Mahlstedt
12 5 12A    Rob Allison
13 15 11B    Solomon Bennett
14 3 1A    Steve Anderson
15 11 38    Austin Luellen
16 14 17    Nathan Lange
17 17 2R    Matt Rice
18 1 30C    Les Cassidy

Stock Cars - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 10 19B    Tim Bengard
2 5 25J    Josh Daniels
3 7 92b    Brian Blessington
4 9 3S    Bryan Snell
5 3 1F    Marcus Fagan
6 2 32t    Tim Feltner
7 4 6D    Jason Day
8 8 55    Cory Bushnell
9 6 11    Steve Campbell
10 1 56    Ron Godwin
11 12 9M    Michael Johnsten
12 11 27    Gary Bass
13 14 711    Michael Walrod
14 13 23T    Travis Houseman

SportMods - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 5 3    Kevin Sather
2 6 18J    Jake Strayer
3 3 92    Michael Pruitt
4 2 4W    John Watson
5 1 2    Bill Wears
6 4 56    Jamie Schirm
7 7 13D    Dan Wetzel
8 8 11C    Justine Campbell

Modifieds - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 5 19    Jimmy Gustin
2 7 3z    Randy Havlik
3 6 83G    Josh Gilman
4 8 55d    Nick Deal
5 3 46    Tyler Vandekamp
6 10 40    Shawn Lee
7 2 14B    Scott Bash
8 4 31R    Rex Parkison
9 1 131S    Ed Seibert
10 11 14    Ron Bash
11 9 15A    Carl Allbee

Spt Compact - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 3 95N    Garrett Nelson
2 2 7    Devan Stuve
3 1 91N    Tim Nelson
4 5 95X    Brandon Claussen
5 4 93N    Colton Nelson

Dwarf Cars - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver
1 6 17    Johnny Mordock
2 7 88    Jimmy May
3 4 7    Shane Hunter
4 8 99    Josh May
5 3 15    Allen Govig
6 1 98    Brad Talbert
7 2 19    Bob Morgan
8 5 8M    Dusty Masolini