Gilman Returns to Victory Lane

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (July 6) – Friday night saw our drivers display some terrific side by side racing at Stuart Speedway! Pat Graham, Curtis Miller, Brandon Pruitt, Brandon Cox, Austin Luellen and Josh Gilman were the big winners on Casey’s General Stores Night.

Karl Chevrolet Trucks were the first race on the track with Pat Graham and Jeff Frevert on the front row. Graham led the first two laps over Frevert until a scary wreck by Steve Jackson in turn one brought the field to a crawl. Thankfully Jackson was ok, but he was done for the night. Once the green came back out it was Graham and Myles Michehl distancing themselves from the pack. Michehl took the lead on laps twelve and thirteen, but Graham muscled his way back into the lead on the next lap to go on to the win. Michehl finished second with Rick Clark third, Bryan Spangler fourth and Shonn Mapes fifth. Graham and Jackson were the heat race winners.

Hunter Patrick and Kolby Sabin brought the IMCA Sport Compacts out next with Sabin leading Curtis Miller and Zak Sickles early. Sickles gave way to Patrick for third on lap three as Sabin and Miller pulled away to settle things between them. Miller got under Sabin on lap ten and some contact between the two resulted in Miller taking over the lead. Sabin worked to get back to the front but ran out of laps as Miller went on to the win. Sabin finished second with Mitchell Bunch third, Patrick fourth and Sickles fifth.

IMCA Stock Cars came out next with Bryan Snell and Brock Badger showing the field to the green flag. Snell led Badger for the first two laps with Brandon Pruitt getting to second on lap three. Chris Pruitt made it to third on lap seven and B. Pruitt shot into the lead a lap later. C. Pruitt passed Snell on lap twelve, but it looked like B. Pruitt was on easy street for another win. Lap eighteen saw those plans go up in smoke as the caution flew for a spin in turn one. After the green came back over the track it was the Pruitt & Pruitt show with Brandon leading the rest of the way to pick up the win. Chris Pruitt took second, Snell third, Marcus Fagan fourth and Badger fifth. Brandon Pruitt and Snell were the heat race winners.

Rusty Gyles and Nick Foster led the IMCA Hobby Stocks to green next with Foster leading Gyles and Adam Ayers early. Brandon Cox started his march to the front by getting to third on lap four and second on lap five. As Cox was dogging Foster, Ayers went for a wild spin up and onto the berm in turn three to bring out the yellow on lap eight. Cox used the bottom of the track on the restart to his advantage and moved past Foster on lap ten to take the lead. Foster regained his composure and stabilized the gap, but there was no slowing the 66 down as Cox went on to the win. Foster finished second with Jeremy Purdy third, Gyles fourth and Ryan Gilland fifth. Solomon Bennett, Korbin Nourse and Cox were the heat race winners.

IMCA Northern SportMods came out next with Thomas Egenberger and Garrett Nelson on the front row. Egenberger led Nelson and Austin Luellen until Luellen slipped into second on lap four. As the race wound down it was still Egenberger out front with Luellen close behind and Nelson a distant third. Luellen began to show strength a groove lower than Egenberger and took the lead on lap thirteen. Egenberger threw his best at him, but Luellen wouldn’t be denied and went on to take the win. Egenberger finished second with Nelson third, Colton Nelson fourth and Matt Webb fifth. Egenberger and Webb were the heat race winners.

Scott Bash and Tony Hilgenberg brought the IMCA Modifieds out for the last feature of the night with Hilgenberg leading lap one. Josh Gilman started fourth, was in third on lap one, second on lap two and passed Hilgenberg on lap three for the lead. Chad Andersen and Clint Luellen were in second and third by lap five and set out to try to track down Gilman. Lap ten saw some lap traffic enter into the fray with Gilman swinging high and low to get through. Andersen made some ground up, but Gilman was up to the task and went on to his first win of the season. Andersen finished second with Luellen third, Hilgenberg fourth and Matt Meinecke fifth. Gilman cleaned up as he was also the heat race winner.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our eighth event of the year. Next Friday is Avey Sanitation Night with the Micro Sprints joining the Modifieds, Stock Cars, SportMods, Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts. See you then!




1. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia.

2. Chad Andersen (8C)

Fort Calhoun, Ne.

3. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia.

4. Tony Hilgenberg (4)

Waukee, Ia.

5. Matthew Meinecke (5M)

Jamaica, Ia.

6. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia.

7. Jason Hickingbottom (45H)

Ogden, Ia.

8. T J Patterson(r) (14)

Creston, Ia.

9. Nick Roberts (23JR)

Des Moines, Ia.


Stock Cars

1. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia.

2. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia.

3. Bryan Snell (3S)

Coon Rapids, Ia.

4. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia.

5. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia.

6. Michael Bilyeu (98B)

Indianola, Ia.

7. James Carroll (10)

Greenfield, Ia.

8. Robbie Merkle (54)

Van Meter, Ia.

9. Ty Hill (3H)

Winterset, Ia.

10. Cory Bushnell (55)

Madrid, Ia.

11. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia.

12. Dillon Carlisle (32C)

Shannon City, Ia.

13. Justin Coon (15)

Earlham, Ia.



1. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia.

2. Thomas Egenberger (98)

Des Moines, Ia.

3. Garrett Nelson (95N)

Osceola, Ia.

4. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia.

5. Matt Webb (51X)

Des Moines, Ia.

6. Dusty Masolini (8)

Des Moines, Ia.

7. Adam Armstrong (46)

Beatrice, Ne.

8. Bryce Allen (16A)

Imogene, Ia.

9. Cory Pestotnik (62)

Boone, Ia.

10. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia.

11. Tyler Fudge (37)

Corning, Ia.

12. Mitchell Morris (26M)

St. Charles, Ia.


Hobby Stocks

1. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia.

2. Nick Foster(r) (17F)

Menlo, Ia.

3. Jeremy Purdy (4)

Bedford, Ia.

4. Rusty Gyles (33)

St. Charles, Ia.

5. Ryan Gilland (46)

Sterling, Ne.

6. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia.

7. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia.

8. Todd Fisher (44)

Des Moines, Ia.

9. Shane Butler (37)

Scranton, Ia.

10. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia.

11. J R Croy (70X)

Norwalk, Ia.

12. Eric Knutson (12K)

Slater, Ia.

13. Tommy Killen, Jr. (1K)

Des Moines, Ia.

14. Matt Tiernan (7M)

Stuart, Ia.

15. Seth Butler (22)

Scranton, Ia.

16. Dallas Larson (58L)

Perry, Ia.

17. Rick Reiter (1)

Des Moines, Ia.

18. Adam Ayers(r) (31)

Adair, Ia.

19. Matthew Wahl (20W)

Norwalk, Ia.

20. Matt McAtee (72)

Elkhart, Ia.

21. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia.


Dirt Trucks

1. Patrick Graham (1G)

Ankeny, Ia.

2. Myles Michehl (28)

Fort Dodge, Ia.

3. Rick Clark (7X)

Des Moines, Ia.

4. Bryan Spangler (17)

Coon Rapids, Ia.

5. Shonn Mapes (79)

Ankeny, Ia.

6. Justin Schroeder (16)

Coon Rapids, Ia.

7. Jeff Frevert (2X)

Fort Dodge, Ia.

8. Lucas Richardson (40)

Coon Rapids, Ia.

9. Del Enos (2)

Des Moines, Ia.

10. Lou Sipolt Jr. (9)

Altoona, Ia.

11. Steve Jackson (23)

Polk City, Ia.


Sport Compact

1. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia.

2. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia.

3. Mitchell Bunch (83B)

Des Moines, Ia.

4. Hunter Patrick (33H)

St. Charles, Ia.

5. Zak Sickles (50)

Fontanelle, Ia.

6. John Gill (02)

Marshalltown, Ia.

7. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia.

8. Ralph Jones (2J)

Des Moines, Ia.

9. B J Charlson (81)

Indianola, Ia.
















Copyright © 2023. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.