Pruitt Wins Second Straight

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (June 10) – Hot. Humid. Two words that we’ve been putting together a lot lately, but that didn’t stop the great drivers and fans of Stuart Speedway from coming out to the track to see some great Sunday racing! David Schlicht, Mike Nichols, Josh Gilman, Brandon Pruitt, Deavon Richards and Andy Forcht were the feature winners on Schneider Excavating Night at the Races.

The first feature to come to the track was the IMCA Northern Sportmods with Casey Greubel and Ty Luellen on the front row. Luellen would take the lead with first Greubel and then David Schlicht following in second. Luellen looked strong and pulled out to a sizeable lead, but on lap ten that lead was erased. A lapped car pulled from the middle of the track in turn four to the exit of the track directly in front of Luellen, forcing him to slow and give up the lead to Schlicht. The next lap saw Luellen and his brother Clint get together to bring out the yellow with three laps to go. Another yellow on lap thirteen set up a dash to the finish between Schlicht, Ty Luellen and Kansan Ben Kates. Kates has been on a swing around the Midwest and stopped in for some Sunday night racing. As the green flew, Schlicht was strong at the front to take home his third win of the year ahead of Kates, Ty Luellen, Mike Pruitt and Jerry Hinton. Hinton and Ty Luellen were the heat race winners.

IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Derrick Rohe and Scott Bailey showing the way. Bailey would lead for the first three laps until Jeff Anderson took over on lap four. Anderson looked to take yet another win at the speedway, but a lap fifteen caution erased any lead he had and brought up a couple of familiar names behind the 78. Mike Nichols and Brian Blessington, no strangers to victory lane, looked to get by Anderson and with five laps to go it would be a battle to the end! Nichols worked the bottom side and on lap eighteen powered to the lead. Blessington followed the 63 by Anderson but would have to settle for second as Nichols took the win, his first at the track this year and 17th on the season! Anderson was third followed by Jeremy Gettler and Marcus Fagan. Steve Campbell, Bob Daniels and Nichols were the heat race winners.

Devon Havlik and Rex Parkison brought out the IMCA Modifieds next with Havlik leading lap one. Alison Davidson quickly made it to second, but on lap four Josh Gilman moved by and one lap later took the top spot away from Havlik. Gilman held the lead through a couple of yellows, and the real race was for second between Jimmy Gustin and Luke Wanninger. Wanninger would win that battle, but Gilman won the war to take home his second win of the season. Wanninger, Gustin, Randy Havlik and Davidson rounded out the top five with Wanninger and Randy Havlik the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks came out next with Nathan Lange and Gina Greubel on the front row. Those two got together in turn three on the first lap, allowing fifth starting Brandon Pruitt to take the lead. John Watson settled in behind Pruitt and things looked good for a shootout between the two. As things go, however, a lap nine caution took away the lead and bunched up the cars for a six lap race to the finish. Contact between Watson and Jason Kohl flattened Watson’s left rear tire as Pruitt set sail out front. Pruitt would take his second straight win and fifth for the year ahead of Kohl, Andrew Burg, Andy Mahlstedt and Greubel. Lange was the heat race winner.

Jordan Peters and Deavon Richards took the green as the IMCA Sport Compacts returned to the track. Peters led the first two laps until Richards moved by on lap three. Richards would go on to take the win in his first ever race ahead of Peters, who was the heat race winner.

Last up for the night was the 6 Cylinder FWD’s with heat race winner Riley Songer and Andy Forcht on the front row. Forcht took the lead and drove off into the sunset for the win over Jordan Peters, Songer and Deavon Richards.

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track on another hot and humid Sunday evening. Join us next week for Adair Lumber Company Night at the Races where in addition to our regular classes we will be joined once again by the IMCA Late Models. See you there!
Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 8 83G Josh Gilman Earlham , Ia 40.00
2 6 20 Luke Wanninger Jefferson , Ia 39.00
3 7 19 Jimmy Gustin Marshalltown , Ia 38.00
4 3 3z Randy Havlik Madrid , Ia 37.00
5 4 37 Alison Davidson Redding , Ia 36.00
6 9 14B Scott Bash Windsor Heights, Ia 35.00
7 5 12C Kent Croskey Polk City, Ia 34.00
8 2 31R Rex Parkison Earlham , Ia 33.00
9 11 131S Ed Seibert Dexter , Ia 32.00
10 1 5D Devon Havlik Iowa Falls, Ia 31.00
11 10 8G Greg Dinsmore Kerrville , Tx 30.00

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 12 63 Mike Nichols Harlan , Ia 40.00
2 10 92B Brian Blessington Breda , Ia 39.00
3 7 78 Jeff Anderson Atlantic , Ia 38.00
4 6 23A Jeremy Gettler Adair , Ia 37.00
5 14 1F Marcus Fagan Adair , Ia 36.00
6 3 3S Bryan Snell Coon Rapids, Ia 35.00
7 11 66 Jeff Joldersma Mcclelland , Ia 34.00
8 9 56 Jamie Schirm Dexter , Ia 33.00
9 2 64 Scott Bailey Carlisle , Ia 32.00
10 1 98 Derrick Rohe Audubon , Ia 31.00
11 13 4 Ron Godwin Earlham , Ia 30.00
12 8 11 Steve Campbell Des Moines, Ia 29.00
13 4 25 Bob Daniels Des Moines, Ia 28.00
14 19 52 Ben Walding Des Moines, Ia 27.00
15 20 711 Michael Walrod Desoto , Ia 26.00
16 15 23H Rick Houseman Winterset , Ia 25.00
17 17 6 Adam Hilgenberg Waukee , Ia 24.00
18 18 3 Joe Zadina Corning , Ia 23.00
19 5 11G Nyle Godwin Redfield , Ia 22.00
20 16 2L Jon Lang Des Moines, Ia 21.00 DNS
21 21 76 Norman Belew Granger , Ia 20.00 DNS

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 4 19 David Schlicht Grand Junction, Ia 40.00
2 10 23K Ben Kates Tonganoxie , Ks 39.00
3 2 32L Ty Luellen Minburn , Ia 38.00
4 8 92P Michael Pruitt Redfield , Ia 37.00
5 5 34J Jerry Hinton Adel , Ia 36.00
6 7 3L Clinton Luellen Minburn , Ia 35.00
7 3 3F Cole Ferguson Dexter , Ia 34.00
8 9 23JR Nick Roberts Des Moines, Ia 33.00
9 6 A5 Austin Paul Monroe , Ia 32.00
10 13 99K Kody Havens Wiota , Ia 31.00
11 1 64 Casey Greubel Lacona , Ia 30.00
12 11 56 Joe Simbro Swan , Ia 29.00
13 12 4A Dan Swank Madrid , Ia 28.00

Hobby Stocks - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 5 10B Brandon Pruitt Dexter , Ia 40.00
2 3 27 Jason Kohl Missouri Valley, Ia 39.00
3 6 78B Andrew Burg Adel , Ia 38.00
4 7 66 Andy Mahlstedt Bagley , Ia 37.00
5 2 224 Gina Greubel Lacona , Ia 36.00
6 9 31 Ben Truetken Knoxville , Ia 35.00
7 1 17 Nathan Lange Dexter , Ia 34.00
8 4 4W John Watson Des Moines, Ia 33.00
9 8 7C Chad Legere Des Moines, Ia 32.00
10 10 17J Josh Fredricksen Des Moines, Ia 31.00

Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 69 Deavon Richards Des Moines, Ia 32.00
2 1 18 Jordan Peters Des Moines, Ia 31.00

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 17 Andy Forcht Stuart , Ia 34.00
2 3 18 Jordan Peters Des Moines, Ia 33.00
3 1 42 Riley Songer Lorimor , Ia 32.00
4 4 69 Deavon Richards Des Moines, Ia 31.00