Havlik and Kruse Repeat at Stuart Speedway

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (July 25) - After yet another week off from too much rain, the sound of race engines filled the air on a beautiful sunday evening as Jeremy Embrey, Jeremy Gettler, Randy Havlik, Curt Ganoe, David Archibald and Jeff Kruse picked up feature wins. Archibald nabbed his fourth win, Havlik and Ganoe got their third, Embrey and Kruse their second and Gettler his first of the season.
     Ten IMCA Northern Sport Mods took to the clay first with pole sitter Bobby Davis III leading lap number one. Seventh-starting Clinton Luellen charged through the field to lead the next two laps when a caution flag slowed the field on lap three. That allowed eighth-starting Jeremy Embrey to close up on Luellen. The two duked it out for the next couple of laps with Embrey taking control on lap six. Another caution flag on lap thirteen gave Luellen one more shot at his first career IMCA feature win, but Embrey would not be denied in taking the win. Luellen finished up in second followed by David Schlicht, Davis III and Jamie Schirm. Heat winners were Luellen and Embrey.
     Jeremy Gettler led thirteen IMCA Stock Cars from the drop of the green flag all the way to the checkered flag. While the action up front was decided, the rest of the field battled for every position with three and sometimes four-wide racing! Kenny Hansen fought through the crowd from the eighth-starting spot to finish in the runnner-up position. Tim Feltner grabbed the third spot followed by Brian Blessington and Josh Daniels. After the race, Hansen's engine was claimed and exchanged by Steve Campbell. Heat winners were Gettler and Hansen.
     Ten IMCA Modifieds were brought to the green by the front row of Ron Bash and Jake George. George led lap one with Kent Crosky leading lap two. Once lap three had rolled around, Randy Havlik nabbed the point from his sixth-starting spot with ninth-starting Jimmy Gustin in tow. These two would put on a clinic the rest of the way with Havlik showing how to keep a lead, and Gustin showing how to try to take it away! Gustin tried almost every move in the book, from diving way low to bouncing off of the wall in turn one, all the while gaining ground on Havlik. All of that effort was for second place, however, as Havlik stayed smooth and fast to pick up the feature win. Gustin finished a hard-charging second followed by Rex Parkison, Kent Crosky and a good run to fifth place for Alison Quick. Heat winners were Josh Gilman and Gustin.
     By far the biggest class for the night, the IMCA Hobby Stocks had twenty cars take the green flag with Danny Watson on the pole. After starting fourth Curt Ganoe would not only lead lap number one, but all fifteen in snagging his third win of the year. John Watson continued a very impressive point season with another second place run followed by Nyle Godwin, Brandon Pruitt and Austin Luellen. Heat winners were J. Watson, Godwin and Ganoe and Andrew Burg took home the trophy dash win.
     The IMCA Sport Compacts had a bit of a complicated finish as Mike Nehring led all eight laps to get the win. However, there was a protest stating that Nehring didn't have an IMCA license and the protest was upheld. That would give the win to David Archibald. Second went to Jacob Peters and third to Garrett Nelson. Nelson won the heat race.
     A sharp decline saw only seven cars race in the Outlaw FWD class. After rolling her car two weeks ago, Christina Powell started on the pole and led lap one. Taylor Musselman would lead the next five laps only to be passed by Jeff Kruse on lap seven. Kruse held on to win the race with Musselman second. Mike Nehring crossed in third followed by Jacob Peters and Powell. Kruse also won the heat race.
     I must say that this was one of the cleanest nights of racing I've witnessed at the track, not only this year, but in all of the eleven years I've been involved in racing. The Stock Cars had to be the most impressive with three and four-wide racing and VERY little contact. Congrats to all of the racers on a great night! Join us next week for Ganoe Excavating Night at the Races!
Hobby Stocks - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 4 20    Curt Ganoe    Stuart , Ia
2 9 4W    John Watson     , Ia
3 7 11G    Nyle Godwin     , Ia
4 8 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia
5 6 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia
6 3 20t    Richard Yaw Ii    Pleasant Hill, Ia
7 11 12A    Rob Allison    Des Moines, Ia
8 5 17    Nathan Lange    Menlo , Ia
9 16 78B    Andrew Burg    Adel , Ia
10 10 67    Ed Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia
11 1 96W    Danny Watson    Des Moines, Ia
12 13 21    Ross Marshall     , Ia
13 20 23G    Dustin Tapp    Ames , Ia
14 2 12    Steve Amos    Earlham , Ia
15 17 45D    Matt Deaton    Newton , Ia
16 12 3    Mike Hansen    Atlantic , Ia
17 19 66    Andy Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia
18 15 33    Nick Ginkens    Stuart , Ia
19 18 79    Charles Belew    Adel , Ia
20 14 88    Chad Waddell     , Ia

Stock Cars - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 1 23A    Jeremy Gettler     , Ia
2 8 17    Kenny Hansen    Audubon , Ia
3 3 32t    Tim Feltner     , Ia
4 11 92b    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia
5 10 25J    Josh Daniels     , Ia
6 5 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia
7 7 1F    Marcus Fagan     , Ia
8 6 11    Steve Campbell    Des Moines, Ia
9 9 3S    Bryan Snell     , Ia
10 4 48    Kevin Godwin    Earlham , Ia
11 2 711    Michael Walrod    Desoto , Ia
12 12 64    Scott Bailey     , Ia
13 13 81B    Dave Baugh    Jefferson , Ia
14 14 36    Trevor Titus    Kellogg , Ia

SportMods - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 8 41    Jeremy Embrey    Granger , Ia
2 7 3L    Clinton Luellen    Minburn , Ia
3 5 19    David Schlicht    Adel , Ia
4 1 1T    Bobby Davis Iii     , Ia
5 2 56    Jamie Schirm     , Ia
6 9 77    Jack Myer     , Ia
7 4 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia
8 6 92    Michael Pruitt    Redfield , Ia
9 3 32L    Ty Luellen    Minburn , Ia
10 10 505    Racer Hulin    Laurel , Ia

Modifieds - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 6 3z    Randy Havlik    Madrid , Ia
2 9 19    Jimmy Gustin     , Ia
3 7 31R    Rex Parkison     , Ia
4 5 12C    Kent Croskey     , Ia
5 10 37    Alison Quick    Redding , Ia
6 4 14B    Scott Bash   
7 2 4    Jake George    Altoona , Ia
8 3 131S    Ed Seibert     , Ia
9 1 14    Ron Bash     , Ia
10 8 83G    Josh Gilman     , Ia
11 11 16G    David Groenhoff, Jr.     , Ia

Spt Compact - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 4 82B    David Archibald    Harlan , Ia
2 1 18    Jacob Peters    Des Moines, Ia
3 3 95N    Garrett Nelson    Osceola , Ia
4 2 6    Mike Nehring    Ankeny , Ia

6 cyl. FWD - Feature  

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 6 57    Jeff Kruse    Harlan , Ia
2 5 13T    Taylor Musselman    Norwalk , Ia
3 7 6    Mike Nehring    Ankeny , Ia
4 4 18    Jacob Peters    Des Moines, Ia
5 1 U81    Christina Powell    Norwalk , Ia
6 3 98R    Tim Ratcliff    Chariton , Ia
7 2 51B    Jim Britton    Indianola , Ia