Roberts Dominates Stout Modified Field

Story by Josh Reynolds


Stuart, IA (June 1) – Warm weather and hard racing marked night number three of the 2018 season at Stuart Speedway. Chase Rudolf, Adam Ayers, Curtis Miller, Brandon Pruitt and Nick Roberts picked up the wins on Roy Sargent Buildings Night at the Races.

Garrett Nelson and Mitchell Morris led the IMCA Northern SportMods to the green flag with Nelson taking the early advantage. Chase Rudolf picked his way to second on lap two and began to hound Nelson until finally getting the job done on lap five. As all of this was taking place, Austin Luellen marched his way through the field to second on lap eight. The field would be bunched together after a spinning Nelson brought the yellow out on lap ten and set up a five lap dash to the checkered flag. Luellen was strong, but Rudolf was up to the task as the defending track champion took his first win of the season. Luellen finished second with Matt Webb third, Colton Nelson fourth and Hunter Longnecker fifth. Garrett Nelson and Rudolf were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Keith Burg and Adam Ayers on the front row. Ayers controlled the pace with Burg and Jeremy Purdy close behind until a bobble by Burg on lap six. This moved Purdy and Solomon Bennett into the top three with Bennett charging into second on lap eight. Bennett slowly closed the gap and as the laps wound down he pulled up beside Ayers to challenge for the lead. The white flag saw the top two side by side, but the top side of the track was the place to be and the rookie looked like a veteran as Ayers took his second win in a row at SIS. Bennett finished second with Purdy third, Brandon Cox fourth and John Watson fifth. Bennett and Burg were the heat race winners.

Zac Sickles and Kolby Sabin brought the IMCA Sport Compacts to the green flag next with Sabin leading over Curtis Miller and Dean Richards early on. Miller methodically worked the high and low side of the track to take the lead on lap six and never looked back in taking his third straight win. Richards finished second with Sickles third, Chris Lafoy fourth and Owen Richards fifth. Sabin and Miller were the heat race winners.

IMCA Stock Cars came out next with Brock Badger and Brandon Pruitt leading the field to green. Pruitt led Badger on lap one and Josh Daniels on lap two before Daniels went for a wild spin out of turn two to bring out the caution flag. Once the race was back underway it was Pruitt, Cory Bushnell and Marcus Fagan out front as the top three stretched out an advantage over the rest of the field. Pruitt would never seriously be challenged and went on to take his second win in a row over Bushnell, Fagan, Daniels and Badger. Badger was the heat race winner.

Last up for the night was the IMCA Modifieds with TJ Patterson and Nick Roberts on the front row. Roberts led Clint Luellen and Josh Gilman on lap one, but the field would be slowed the next time around for a crash by Eric Elliot in turn one. Roberts picked back up where he left off when the green flag came back out, slowly pulling away from Luellen and Gilman. Luellen would work the high and low side of the track as well as using lap traffic to gain some on the leader, but Roberts was not to be denied on this night as he went on to take the win. Luellen finished second with Gilman third, Kyle Brown fourth and Jeff Wiggins fifth. Luellen and Roberts were the heat race winners.

Toward the end of the night Promotor Chuck Vanderheiden made a big announcement about a future special at Stuart Speedway. Together with IMCA TV, Stuart will be hosting a RARE Monday event at the raceway! Monday, July 2nd will see the IMCA Modifieds, Stock Cars and Northern SportMods in a nationwide pay per view event for the ages! Modifieds will pay $1000 to win along with having a $1000 to win Dirt Dominator event after the features are over. This one-on-one bracket style race should be extremely entertaining as it’s a qualifier for the $10,000 to win Dirt Dominator later this year in Texas! One Modified driver could walk away with $2000!!! The Stock Cars and SportMods will be racing for $700 to win, and adult grandstand admission is going to be $5!!! This show will be for National and Regional IMCA points, no track points will be awarded. So get your work done on Monday, put in for an extra vacation day on Tuesday to add to the July 4th holiday and come have a blast at Stuart Speedway!! Rumor also has it that Anne is having $2 hotdogs that night as well!!! Look for more announcements to come on our Facebook page and website at www.stuartspeedway.net. This will be one you won’t want to miss!!!

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our third event of the year. Next week will be Town & Country Insurance Night at the Races with our five regular classes in attendance along with the 2 Man Cruiser Cars. See you then!


Modified Feature

1. Nick Roberts (23JR)

Des Moines, Ia.

2. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia.

3. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia.

4. Kyle Brown (21K)

Madrid, Ia.

5. Jeff Wiggins (36T)

Greenfield, Ia.

6. Tony Hilgenberg (4)

Waukee, Ia.

7. Cory Sauerman (17)

Johnston, Ia.

8. T J Patterson(r) (14)

Creston, Ia.

9. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia.

10. Jason Hickingbottom (45H)

Ogden, Ia.

11. Joel Bushore (87)

Boone, Ia.

12. Eric Elliott (9E)

Boone, Ia.

13. Shane Demey (15M)

Denison, Ia.


Stock Cars Feature

1. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia.

2. Cory Bushnell (55)

Madrid, Ia.

3. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia.

4. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia.

5. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia.

6. James Carroll (10)

Greenfield, Ia.

7. Robert Stofer (50)

Jefferson, Ia.


SportMod Feature

1. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia.

2. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia.

3. Matt Webb (51X)

Des Moines, Ia.

4. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia.

5. Hunter Longnecker (93)

Woodward, Ia.

6. Kevin Yearington (25K)

Des Moines, Ia.

7. Mitchell Morris (26M)

St. Charles, Ia.

8. Chris Burke (25)

Altoona, Ia.

9. Garrett Nelson (95N)

Osceola, Ia.

10. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia.

11. Kevin Gyles (33G)

St. Charles, Ia.


Hobby Stocks Feature

1. Adam Ayers(r) (31)

Adair, Ia.

2. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia.

3. Jeremy Purdy (4)

Bedford, Ia.

4. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia.

5. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia.

6. Keith Burg (14B)

Carlisle, Ia.

7. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia.

8. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia.

9. Gregg Anderson (3A)

Perry, Ia.

10. Matt Tiernan (7M)

Stuart, Ia.

11. Nick Foster(r) (17F)

Menlo, Ia.

12. J R Croy (70X)

Norwalk, Ia.

13. Matthew Wahl (20W)

Norwalk, Ia.


Sport Compact Feature

1. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia.

2. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia.

3. Zak Sickles (50)

Fontanelle, Ia.

4. Chris Lafoy (55)

Audobon, Ia.

5. Owen Richards (069)

Creston, Ia.

6. Bob Stream (28)

Paton, Ia.

7. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia.

8. Mitchell Bunch (83B)

Des Moines, Ia.

9. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia.

10. Colton Garside (11F)

Greenfield, Ia.










Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.