Webb Takes SportMod Thriller

Story by Josh Reynolds

Stuart, IA (June 15) – A hot June evening and terrific side by side racing highlighted night number five of the 2018 season at Stuart Speedway. Matt Webb, Dean Richards, Brandon Cox, Marcus Fagan, Nick Roberts and the team of Chad Rigby/Carson Carpenter picked up the wins on Fox Welding Night at the Races.

The first feature of the night was the IMCA Northern SportMods with DJ Robinson and Mitchell Morris on the front row. Robinson led lap one as Matt Webb sliced and diced his way from fourth to the lead on lap two. A couple of cautions on lap three and four slowed the field, but once they fired back up it was Webb leading Austin Luellen and Chase Rudolf at the halfway point. Luellen began to made moves on the bottom side and took the lead on lap thirteen by a bumper. As the cars took the white flag it was Luellen, Webb and Rudolf all within a car length of each other with Webb getting the momentum out of turn two to move ahead. As the top three entered the last turn it was Webb in the middle of the track, Luellen a groove off the tires and Rudolf at the very bottom. Webb carried the momentum to the finish line, taking the win by less than five feet over Rudolf, who beat Luellen by less than that for second! Colton Nelson and Robinson rounded out the top five, and Robinson was the heat race winner.

Mitchell Bunch and Kolby Sabin brought the IMCA Sport Compacts to the green flag next with Sabin leading the first lap. Dean Richards and Curtis Miller passed Sabin a lap later and as the race wound down it was apparent it would be settled between these two. Miller, who hadn’t lost a race this season at Stuart, worked the high and middle grooves of the track but just couldn’t quite get enough as Richards went on to the win. Miller finished second with Logan Richards third, Bunch fourth and Joe Mastin fifth. Miller and Sabin were the heat race winners.

IMCA Hobby Stocks were up next with Rusty Gyles and Matt Tiernan on the front row. Tiernan led lap one with Gyles taking over a lap later. Tommy Killen Jr. took over on lap three as the 66 of Brandon Cox started marching through the field from his eighth starting spot. Cox closed in and took the lead on lap seven. Twelfth starting Aaron Rudolph made it to second on lap nine, but there was no catching Cox on this night as he went on to his first win of the year. Rudolph finished second, Jeremy Purdy third, Killen Jr. fourth and Solomon Bennett fifth. Cox and Purdy were the heat race winners.

Scott Bailey and Josh Daniels brought the IMCA Stock Cars to green next with Daniels rocketing out to a big early lead. Bailey and Marcus Fagan had a spirited battle for second with Fagan finally getting the job done on lap nine as Daniels was almost a full straightaway ahead by this point. Fagan flipped a switch and by lap twelve was on Daniels’ bumper. Two laps later Fagan made the pass and cruised to the win over Daniels, Brandon Pruitt, Chris Pruitt and Bailey. Daniels was the heat race winner.

IMCA Modifieds came out next with Scott Bash and Nick Roberts on the front row. Roberts, Clint Luellen and Josh Gilman separated themselves early with Roberts inching away lap by lap. Gilman challenged Luellen on lap four for second and got the job done a lap later. The 83G worked the high side and made some ground up, but as the leaders entered lap traffic it was Roberts moving through with ease as he went on to take his 100th career feature win at the same track he earned his first! Gilman came in second with Luellen third, Chad Anderson fourth and Matthew Meinecke fifth. Roberts was the heat race winner.

Last up for the night was the Cruiser Cars with Chad Rigby/Carson Carpenter and Kyle Gibbons/Collin Gross on the front row. The leaders had a bit of a tangle in turn two on the second lap as Rigby/Carpenter spun and Dallas Larson/Ben Larson caught their bumper and cut a tire down. Once the cars went back racing it was James Tarter/Brianna Brickman in the lead with Rigby/Carpenter chasing them down. Rigby/Carpenter took over with two laps to go and went on to the win. Tarter/Brickman finished second with Gibbons/Gross third, Katie Huff/Alan Siedelmann fourth and Larson/Larson fifth. Larson/Larson were the heat race winners.

 We want to remind all of you that Monday, July 2 will be a special night at Stuart Speedway as along with IMCA TV we will present a Monday Night Spotlight race, the first of its kind! This race will pay the IMCA Modifieds $1000 to win along with having a $1000 to win Dirt Dominator after the features are over! The bracket race will include some IMCA Northern SportMods, so things could get interesting to say the least!! The IMCA Stock Cars and Northern SportMods will both be racing for $700 to win so get your work done during the day and put in for a vacation day on Tuesday to add to the July 4 holiday and come have fun with us at Stuart! Anne says the $2 hotdogs are a go!!!! Also, any new Modified, Stock Car or SportMod driver that comes to race with us the next two weeks gets a crew member in for free!

We’d like to thank all who came out to support the race track at our fifth event of the year. Next week will be Stew Hansen Dodge Night at the Races with our five regular classes in attendance along with the Micro Sprints. See you then!


Stock Cars

1. Marcus Fagan (1F)

Adair, Ia.

2. Josh Daniels (25J)

Carlisle, Ia.

3. Brandon Pruitt (10B)

Stuart, Ia.

4. Chris Pruitt (22)

Stuart, Ia.

5. Scott Bailey (64)

Carlisle, Ia.

6. Bryan Snell (3S)

Coon Rapids, Ia.

7. Brock Badger (50B)

Bagley, Ia.

8. James Carroll (10)

Greenfield, Ia.



1. Matt Webb (51X)

Des Moines, Ia.

2. Chase Rudolf (8R)

Prole, Ia.

3. Austin Luellen (3A)

Minburn, Ia.

4. Colton Nelson (93N)

Osceola, Ia.

5. D J Robinson (33R)

Des Moines, Ia.

6. Hunter Longnecker (93)

Woodward, Ia.

7. Mitchell Morris (26M)

St. Charles, Ia.

8. Brandon Patava (61)

Des Moines, Ia.

9. Garrett Nelson (95N)

Osceola, Ia.



1. Nick Roberts (23JR)

Des Moines, Ia.

2. Josh Gilman (83G)

Earlham, Ia.

3. Clinton Luellen (3L)

Minburn, Ia.

4. Chad Andersen (8C)

Fort Calhoun, Ne.

5. Matthew Meinecke (5M)

Jamaica, Ia.

6. Cory Sauerman (17)

Johnston, Ia.

7. Scott Bash (14B)

Windsor Heights, Ia.

8. Jason Hickingbottom (45H)

Ogden, Ia.

9. T J Patterson(r) (14)

Creston, Ia.


Hobby Stocks

1. Brandon Cox (66)

Norwalk, Ia.

2. Aaron Rudolph (38R)

Grand Junction, Ia.

3. Jeremy Purdy (4)

Bedford, Ia.

4. Tommy Killen, Jr. (1K)

Des Moines, Ia.

5. Solomon Bennett (11B)

Minburn, Ia.

6. Korbin Nourse (12)

Dexter, Ia.

7. John Watson (4W)

Des Moines, Ia.

8. Matt McAtee (72)

Elkhart, Ia.

9. Jack Phillips (00)

Mitchellville, Ia.

10. Rusty Gyles (33)

St. Charles, Ia.

11. Adam Ayers(r) (31)

Adair, Ia.

12. Nick Foster(r) (17F)

Menlo, Ia.

13. Matt Tiernan (7M)

Stuart, Ia.

14. Josh Modde (30X)

Truro, Ia.

15. Matthew Wahl (20W)

Norwalk, Ia.

16. Cory Adams (27C)

Des Moines, Ia.


Sport Compacts

1. Dean Richards (69X)

Creston, Ia.

2. Curtis Miller (411)

Lewis, Ia.

3. Logan Richards (69R)

Creston, Ia.

4. Mitchell Bunch (83B)

Des Moines, Ia.

5. Joseph Mastin (99)

Des Moines, Ia.

6. Zak Sickles (50)

Fontanelle, Ia.

7. Travis Graspy (21G)

Des Moines, Ia.

8. Owen Richards (069)

Creston, Ia.

9. Kolby Sabin (9)

Des Moines, Ia.

10. Benji Clemons (55)

Norwalk, Ia.

11. Hunter Patrick (33H)

St. Charles, Ia.


2 Man Cruisers

1. Chad Rigby (53)

Madrid, Ia.

2. James Tarter (2B)

Des Moines, Ia.

3. Kyle Gibbons (7G)

Linden, Ia.

4. Katie Huff (25)

Greenfield, Ia.

5. Dallas Larson (58L)

Perry, Ia.



Copyright © 2022. All Rights Reserved. Stuart International Speedway.