Schlicht Pulls Out Win on Soggy Night

Story by Josh Reynolds

                Stuart, IA (June 26) – Unpredictable finishes rounded out an almost impossible evening of racing at the Stuart Speedway this past Sunday night. David Archibald, David Schlicht, Jeff Anderson, Jake Coughennower and Shannon Anderson took the feature wins on a night that almost didn’t have any heat race winners!

                The evening’s events kicked off with heat races and following the first Sportmod heat the skies opened and covered the track with enough water to lose the racing surface. Almost. The track prep crew took on the task of getting the track back and after roughly an hour delay the clay took on one of the smoothest, heaviest surfaces to date! Most all of the cars in the pits helped pack the track in and for that all of us on the staff say THANK YOU!

                First up at feature time was the IMCA Sport Compacts with Allen Wilson and Adam Kralik bringing the field to green. Kralik led the first three laps until David Archibald took over on lap four. Archibald would lead the distance to pick up the win over Kralik, Wilson and Jordan Peters. Archibald also won the heat race.

                Clinton Luellen and Austin Paul led the IMCA Northern Sportmods to the green flag with Luellen leading lap number one. The lead would be short-lived as Nick Roberts took over on lap two. Roberts looked to run away with the win, but a couple of cautions on laps nine and eleven erased his lead and brought David Schlicht and Mike Pruitt up close behind for the last four laps. Roberts looked to have things in hand as Schlicht and Pruitt battled for second, but as the three cars took the white flag Schlicht drove in hard on the top side and motored past Roberts on the backstretch. Roberts had one last-ditch effort in turn three, sliding in low but coming up just short as Schlicht took the feature win. Pruitt snuck by for second with Roberts coming in a disappointing third. Jerry Hinton and Casey Gruebel rounded out the top five with Gruebel and Roberts taking the heat race wins.

                IMCA Stock Cars were up next with Scott Bailey and Jamie Schirm leading the field from row one. Schirm didn’t make it out of turn two as contact with Bailey sent him into the concrete wall, ending his night. On the restart Bob Daniels took advantage of moving up to the front row and shot out to the lead. Daniels would own the top spot and looked to set up quite a shootout with eighth starting Jeff Anderson. That would all end for Daniels on lap five in the form of a blown engine. Anderson took command of the race and after another caution on lap thirteen continued to lead as Marcus Fagan moved into second place. Fagan tried everything he had but to no avail as Anderson took the checkered flag first. Fagan, Mike Nichols, Brian Blessington and Kevin Godwin were the top five with Fagan and Nichols the heat race winners. On a personal note, I couldn’t help but notice that there is a total count of close to 600 feature wins among the top four cars. That seems pretty amazing to me and these drivers should be extremely proud of their accomplishments!

                With skies darkening the 6 Cylinder FWD’s came out with Allen Wilson and Jake Coughennower leading the cars to green. Lap one saw a violent crash on the front stretch between Anthony Onstot and Jim Britton. Onstot’s car was severely damaged and Britton received the black flag for intentionally wrecking Onstot. This left us with just the cars that started on the front row. The call was made to have a green-white-checkered finish, and Coughennower managed to hold on to the lead to take the feature win. Wilson came in second and Onstot was the heat race winner.

                With a close eye on the radar and the sky the IMCA Hobby Stocks entered the track with the Castellano brothers, David and Phillip on the front row. Neither would lead, however, as Shannon Anderson moved through the brothers to take the lead on lap one. Curt Ganoe came through for second and began to try to chase down Anderson. There would be little drama in this race as Anderson dominated the rest of the way to take the win. Ganoe ended in second with Brandon Pruitt, Bill Atcheson and Jason Kohl rounding out the top five. Pruitt and Anderson were the heat race winners.

                As the IMCA Modifieds gathered in staging the call was made to send everyone home as storm spotters began to get paged for severe weather in the area. The Modified feature will be first up on the bill at next week’s show.

Thanks to all who came out and braved the rain with us. Everyone sticking around just shows the kind of great fans and drivers we are blessed with! Please join us next week for Kinzie Service Night at the Races!


Hobby Stocks - Feature

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 4 78    Shannon Anderson    Atlantic , Ia  
2 7 20    Curt Ganoe    Stuart , Ia  
3 10 10B    Brandon Pruitt    Dexter , Ia  
4 6 32    Bill Atcheson     , Ia  
5 8 27    Jason Kohl    Missouri Valley, Ia  
6 9 3A    Austin Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
7 5 11G    Nyle Godwin    Redfield , Ia  
8 11 66    Andy Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia  
9 2 35X    Phillip Castellano    Norwalk , Ia  
10 13 17    Nathan Lange    Stuart , Ia  
11 1 11    David Castellano    Des Moines, Ia  
12 12 35    Gina Gruebel    Lacona , Ia  
13 15 47    Raymond Fees    Des Moines, Ia  
14 14 39    Frank Mills Jr.    Kent , Ia  
15 3 67    Ed Mahlstedt    Bagley , Ia  

Stock Cars - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 8 78    Jeff Anderson    Atlantic , Ia  
2 9 1F    Marcus Fagan    Adair , Ia  
3 10 63    Mike Nichols    Harlan , Ia  
4 7 92B    Brian Blessington    Breda , Ia  
5 3 48    Kevin Godwin    Earlham , Ia  
6 6 3S    Bryan Snell    Coon Rapids, Ia  
7 5 23A    Jeremy Gettler    Adair , Ia  
8 16 11    Steve Campbell    Des Moines, Ia  
9 1 64    Scott Bailey    Carlisle , Ia  
10 14 711    Michael Walrod    Desoto , Ia  
11 11 5X    Ross Marshall    Johnston , Ia  
12 13 77T    Trenton Jeanes    Chariton , Ia  
13 4 25    Bob Daniels    Des Moines, Ia  
14 12 2L    Jon Lang    Des Moines, Ia  
15 2 56    Jamie Schirm    Dexter , Ia  
16 15 81x    Randy Killen    Des Moines, Ia    

SportMods - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 6 19    David Schlicht    Grand Junction, Ia  
2 8 92P    Michael Pruitt    Redfield , Ia  
3 7 23JR    Nick Roberts    Des Moines, Ia  
4 12 34J    Jerry Hinton    Adel , Ia  
5 4 64    Casey Gruebel    Lacona , Ia  
6 5 3L    Clinton Luellen    Minburn , Ia  
7 3 3F    Cole Ferguson    Dexter , Ia  
8 2 A5    Austin Paul    Monroe , Ia  
9 11 66L    Lukas Onstot    Norwalk , Ia  
10 1 22B    Brian Eppert    Boone , Ia  
11 10 56    Joe Simbro    Swan , Ia  
12 14 30X    Josh Modde    Des Moines, Ia  
13 9 02    Mike Goldsberry    Runnells , Ia  
14 13 39    Larry Embrey    Granger , Ia    


Spt Compact - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown  
1 3 82B    David Archibald    Harlan , Ia  
2 4 199    Adam Kralik    Orient , Ia  
3 1 32    Allen Wilson    Altoona , Ia  
4 2 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia    
5 5 86    David Sciranko    Harlan , Ia    
Modifieds - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 7 83G    Josh Gilman    Earlham , Ia
2 5 12C    Kent Croskey    Polk City, Ia
3 8 3z    Randy Havlik    Madrid , Ia
4 6 37    Alison Quick    Redding , Ia
5 2 14B    Scott Bash    Windsor Heights, Ia
6 10 4    Tony Hilgenberg    Waukee , Ia
7 1 14    Ron Bash    Stuart , Ia
8 3 131S    Ed Seibert    Dexter , Ia
9 4 31R    Rex Parkison    Earlham , Ia
10 9 22D    Daniel Hilsabeck    Waukee , Ia

6 cyl. FWD - Feature
Finish Start Car Driver Hometown
1 2 90    Jake Coughennower    Indianola , Ia
2 1 32    Allen Wilson    Altoona , Ia
3 3 01A    Anthony Onstot    Norwalk , Ia
4 5 7P    Jordan Peters    Des Moines, Ia
5 6 86    David Sciranko    Harlan , Ia
6 4 51B    Jim Britton    Indianola , Ia